Skip to main content
- Canadian Opinion Research Archive (CORA) (established: 1992)
Based at Queen's University, CORA's Web site provides access to information about hundreds of surveys, many of which were conducted by the organizations listed below.
- Compas Inc. (established: 1987)
Highlights and survey reports covering a wide range of topics are available from 2000 forward by following the What's New and Library tabs on the web site. A poll search engine is also available.
- Environics Research Group (established: 1970)
Environics is noted for its FOCUS polling series, created to monitor public satisfaction with government performance and attitude toward public policy issues in Canada, Ontario, and Quebec. FOCUS summaries back to 1997 are available via the Archives and Past Polls section of the Environics Web site. Press releases summarizing other surveys are available via theLatest Newssection of the Web site and date back to 1998.
- Gallup Polls
- Harris/Decima Research Inc. (established: 1979)
Decima Research Inc. has collected over two decades of Canadian data. Historical activities focused on public affairs and policy research, while more recent polls cover a wide variety of topics.
- Ipsos-Reid Corporation (established: 1979)
Founded by Dr. Angus Reid, the Vancouver-based Angus Reid Group merged with Paris-based Ipsos Group in 2000. Current activities include market and social research in 80 countries and 40 languages. Press releases containing Canadian poll results are available via the News & Polls section of the Ipsos-Reid Web site. Use the search engine to access Canadian poll summaries dating back to 1995.
- Pollara (established: 1985)
Pollara is the largest Canadian-owned public opinion and market research firm. The Library section of the Pollara Web site provides access to research findings in the public domain back to 1995. Some Pollara polls and reports are also available via the Carleton University Library Data Centre. Contact the Data Librarian for more information about obtaining public opinion files through the Carleton University Library.
To learn more about public opinion polling in Canada, please see the Library of Parliament's Parliamentary Research Branch publication Public Opinion Polling in Canada and the annual publication Public Opinion Research in the Government of Canada, prepared by Public Works and Government Services Canada
- European Commission: Public Opinion (established: 1973)
Provides access to information about and produced from surveys and studies addressing major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, etc.
- Gallup Organization (established: 1935)
The Gallup Organization has wholly owned or majority-owned subsidiaries in more than 25 countries around the world.
- Gallup Poll Briefing provides a daily overview of major polls. Online access to this periodical includes indexing back to 1996 and full-text articles back to 2002. It continues the publications Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefing, Gallup Poll Monthlyand the Gallup Report.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) (established: 1962)
ICPSR provides access to the world's largest archive of computer- based research and instructional data for the social sciences. ICPSR holdings include over 1000 public opinion polls from around the world (including Canada). Use the search engine to find information about specific polls.
- International Journal of Public Opinion Research
Articles in this quarterly, scholarly journal focus primarily on the study of public opinion theory and methodology. However, results of public opinion surveys on current issues are also included.
- Ipsos-Reid Corporation (established: 1979)
Founded by Dr. Angus Reid, the Vancouver-based Angus Reid Group merged with Paris-based Ipsos Group in 2000. Current activities include market and social research in 80 countries and 40 languages. Press releases containing poll results are available via the Polls section of the Ipsos-Reid Web site.
- Public Opinion Poll Question Database
The Odum Institute for Research in Social Sciences at the University of North Carolina is the repository for all Louis Harris public opinion data and Roper Center nonproprietary poll data, and the headquarters for the National Network of State Polls. The online poll question database (linked above) allows you to search questions from over 2800 surveys. Catalogue records may include links to survey results and supporting files.
Can't find what you're looking for? Want more? Try the C&RL News article Guide to Public Opinion Poll Web Sites: Polling Data From Around the World (PDF).