Skip to Main Content
Canadian Sources
- Election results
- Federal ( Elections Canada )
Includes
- Provincial:
- "Canada" page on electionresources.org
A collection of federal election results since 1993
- Canadian Election Studies on <odesi>
Microdata from surveys carried out about federal elections since 1965
- Civic engagement and political participation in Canada
This report presents the most recent findings on the participation of Canadians in groups, organizations and associations. The focus is on the types of groups that people participate in and how often they participate. This report also examines the prevalence of the various forms of political participation, including electoral participation. The data are from the 2013 General Social Survey (GSS) on Social Identity and, for the purpose of comparison over time, from the 2003 and 2008 GSS.
- Elections data from the federal Open Data Portal
Both raw data and maps are included.
- Factors associated with voting
This article investigates the factors associated with voting during the May 2011 federal election. Voting rates are examined across personal, family and labour market characteristics. Multivariate techniques are used to account for many of the characteristics associated with voting. The study is based on several supplemental questions, commissioned by Elections Canada, that were added to the May Labour Force Survey. Voting trends and international comparisons, based on administrative data, are also presented.
- Federal electoral district profile (2011 / 2006 / 2001 )
Statistics Canada is making available statistical profiles of all federal electoral districts. Each profile contains data on four major components: population and demographic characteristics; education; income and work; and families and dwellings. Users can also compare data for their federal electoral district with provincial and national data.
- Political participation and civic engagement of youth
This study provides new information on the political participation of youth aged 15 to 24 years. It examines the likelihood of voting in the next federal election (as reported in 2013) and participation in the previous election, as well as participation in non-electoral political activities, such as signing petitions or participating in demonstrations or public meetings. The study also provides information on the degree of civic engagement of youth, which is often perceived as a key indicator of social capital.
- Reasons for not voting in the May 2, 2011 federal election
This article from the Daily describes the results of two questions from the May 2011 Labour Force Survey' asking if the individual voted in the election, and if not, why not. Results are presented arranged by sex, age group, geography and immigrant status.
- Willing to participate: Political engagement of young adults
This article, from the Winter 2005 issue of Canadian Social Trends, outlines the extent of political engagement among young adults in their 20s, as measured by traditional (voting) and alternative (non-voting) political participation. It then examines some of the links between young adults' selected characteristics and their political behaviours such as voting, signing petitions, boycotting certain products, attending public meetings or participating in demonstrations.
Foreign/International
- American National Election Studies (United States)
"The mission of the National Election Studies (NES) is to produce high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation that serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, and policy makers concerned with understanding the theoretical and empirical foundations of mass politics in a democratic society."
- Comparative study of electoral systems
"The Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES) is a collaborative program of cross-national research among election studies conducted in over fifty consolidated and emerging democracies. The goals of this unique program of research are threefold: illuminate how electoral institutions constrain the beliefs and behaviors of citizens to condition the nature and quality of democratic choice as expressed through popular elections; understand the nature of political and social cleavages and alignments; and shed light on how citizens, living under diverse political arrangements, evaluate democratic institutions and processes."
- Election resources on the Internet
"Links to Internet sites around the world which provide complete and detailed national and local election statistics"
- Election results : UK
- Election statistics (Clerk of the House) (United States)
Official vote counts for 1920 to date for federal elections from the official sources of the states and territories.
- Federal Election Commission (United States)
- opensecrets.org (United States)
"The online source for money in politics data."
- Political database of the Americas: Electoral systems
Historical and current election results for the countries of the Americas.
- UK elections resources
- UK general elections since 1832
- US elections resources
- Voter turnout database
"The International IDEA Voter Turnout Database contains a sizeable global collection of political participation statistics. Regularly updated voter turnout figures for national presidential and parliamentary elections since 1945 are presented country by country, using both the number of registered voters and voting age population as indicators. Where available, ... the spoilt ballot rate for each election [is also included, as well as] the most recent indicators of literacy and human development, along with the type of electoral system currently used and whether voting is compulsory or not."
