Skip to Main Content

Numeric Data

Source of microdata, aggregate data, and statistics, data visualization, text and data mining, R programming, SPSS, SAS, Stata

Geolytics Data

Normalized US Census Data

Comparing census data from different census years is challenging due to changing geographic boundaries. These normalized data products from GeoLytics Inc. assist researchers with comparisons of data across time by adjusting and weighting the census data to account for changes in geographies.

1980 Census in 2010 Boundaries

Census 1980 in 2010 Boundaries allows users to access US Census data from 1980 and easily compare it with the 2010 Census data. It is the first and only source of Census data from 1980 that is expressed at all of the 2010 Summary File (SF1) geographies (except block). The Census 1980 in 2010 Boundaries contains both the 1980 Long Form (STF-3) and Short Form (STF-1) datasets. It includes detailed demographic data about topics such as population, household structure, income, poverty, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables. The 1980 in 2010 Boundaries is an invaluable resource for policy makers, community organizations, and researchers who want to analyze the changes that have occurred in the U.S. from 1980 to 2010.

1990 Census Long Form in 2010 Boundaries

CensusCD 1990 Long Form in 2010 Boundaries allows users to access US Census data from 1990 and easily compare it with the 2010 Census data. It is the finest source of Census data from 1990 expressed at all of the 2010 ACS geographies. The CensusCD 1990 Long Form in 2010 Boundaries is based upon the long form (STF 3): questions answered by one in six households in the 1990 census. It includes detailed demographic data about topics such as population, household structure, income, poverty, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables. The 1990 Long Form in 2000 Boundaries is an invaluable resource for policy makers, community organizations, and researchers who want to analyze the changes that have occurred in the U.S. from 1990 to 2010.

2000 Census Long Form in 2010 Boundaries

Allows users to access US Census data from 2000 and easily compare it with 2010 Census data. Comparing census demographics from different census years can be a difficult task due to changing geographic boundaries. Normalized data assists researchers with comparisons of data across time by adjusting and weighting the census data to account for changes in geographies The Census 2000 Long Form is the most complete source of detailed information about the people, housing, and economy of the United States in 2000. This dataset contains variables such as income, housing, employment, language spoken, ancestry, education, poverty, rent, mortgage, commute to work, etc. There are 5,500 variables at the Block Group level and over 10,000 more variables at the larger geographies such as tract, zip code, county and state level. This product comes with built-in data viewing and exporting capabilities as well as thematically shaded, color-mapping capabilities.

1990 Census in 2000 Boundaries

CensusCD 1990 Long Form in 2000 Boundaries allows users to access US Census data from 1990 and easily compare it with the 2000 Census data. It is the finest source of Census data from 1990 expressed at all of the 2000 geographies. The CensusCD 1990 Long Form in 2000 Boundaries is based upon the long form (STF 3) questions answered by one in six households in the 1990 census. It includes detailed demographic data about topics such as population, household structure, income, poverty, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables. The 1990 Long Form in 2000 Boundaries is an invaluable resource for policy makers, community organizations, and researchers who want to analyze the changes that have occurred in the U.S. from 1990 to 2000.

Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB)

The NCDB makes it easy to compare a subset of 1000+ variables from the 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 decennial censuses. The datasets come in both their year-specific boundaries and also weighted to the 2010 census tract boundaries. Note that the NCDB is limited to census tracts only for the geography and therefore, smaller geographies (block group) or larger geographies (zip code, county, or state) are not available. This product is ideally suited for neighborhood (tract) time series analysis over the five census periods.

Neighborhood Change Database, 1970-2010

US Censuses

2000 Long Form (SF3)

The Census 2000 Long Form is the most complete source of detailed information about the people, housing, and economy of the United States. The CensusCD 2000 Long Form offers the entire US Census Bureau's SF3 dataset in an integrated data and software package. This dataset contains variables such as income, housing, employment, language spoken, ancestry, education, poverty, rent, mortgage, commute to work, etc. There are 5,500 variables at the Block Group level and over 10,000 more variables at the larger geographies such as tract, zip code, county and state level.

US Estimates / Projections

Block Level Estimates 2016

U.S. population and housing estimates at the Block Level (i.e. smallest level of geography). Expanded list of current year population and housing estimates at this small geography (i.e. 8 million blocks). Use these granular level data to do statistical analysis of population and housing distributions and target very small geographic areas. The expanded variable list includes: sex by age by race for the most precise population estimates available. Occupancy, owner vs. renter, households, families, and much more are also included.GeoLytics Block Estimates come as a flat .csv file for easy importing into spreadsheet or statistical software packages.

Extended Estimates Professional 2016

US Business Demographics

Historical Business Demographics

The Historical Business Demographics CD has data from the US Department of Commerce County and Zip Code Business Patterns databases 1998 through 2002. This annual release of data for industries by the county and by zip code studies economic activity. By having 5 historical databases in one product you can quickly and easily study economic changes and trends. The Historical Business Demographics product gives you the number of establishments, number of employees, and payroll for each quarter for all counties and zip codes. The industries available include: forestry, fishing, hunting, & agriculture; mining; utilities; construction; manufacturing; wholesale trade; retail trade; transportation & warehousing; information; finance & insurance; real estate, rental, & leasing; professional, scientific, & technical services; management of companies & enterprises; administrative, support, waste management & remediation services; educational services; health care & social assistance; arts, entertainment, & recreation; accommodation & food services; and much more.

Business Demographics 2005

Business and population data, coupled with easy exports and built-in mapping software for mapping trends and business markets. The data in Business Demographics 2005 includes 2003 Industry Data, 2005 Population Estimates, 2005 Consumer Expenditures, 2010 Population Projections, and the 2000 Population Census. Data is available for the nation, state, county, and zip code. It is easily exportable for use in spreadsheets, statistical programs, or mapping software.

Business Demographics 2006

Business and population data, coupled with easy exports and built-in mapping software for mapping trends and business markets. The data in Business Demographics 2006 includes the 2003 Business Census, 2006 Population Estimates, 2011 Population Projections, 2006 & 2011 Consumer Expenditures, and the Census 2000 Population Demographics. Data is available for the nation, state, county, and zip code. It is easily exportable for use in spreadsheets, statistical programs, or mapping software.

US Crime

Crime Reports

Crime Reports allow access to the Uniform Crime Reporting Program data for 9 years: 1998-2006 from the U.S. Dept. of Justice, Federal Bureau of Investigation. The data contains 669 crime variables from 19464 agencies. The data can be seen at the national level or broken down to the state or agency level. The reports are created in multiple formats (comma separated, tab separated, dbf, or a summary report) to be exported to other statistical and database applications. The national or state data can be run as a map but there are no boundaries for mapping of the agency based files.

Data Services Librarian

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice