Skip to Main Content
Canadian Sources
- Statistics Canada data and publications on labour ( Statistics Canada)
The labour market activities of the Canadian population, including: employment and unemployment rate; industries or occupations; hours worked; commuting patterns; wage and non-wage benefits; job training; labour mobility; work absences; unionization; and other topics.
- Database on minimum wages (HRSDC)
Contains data for federal and provincial jurisdictions. Available in ten-year ranges (1965-1974, 1975-1984, 1985-1994, 1995-2004, 2005-2014) in addition to current and forthcoming rates for adult and young workers. See also "The ups and downs of minimum wage"
- Employment, Earnings and Hours (1990-2012)
"his publication presents a timely picture of employment, earnings and hours which is vital to Canada's businesses and governments for planning and decision-making purposes. The tabulations focus on monthly labour market information and historical data series. The major economic variables for over 280 industries are provided at the national and provincial/territorial level. The publication also includes a succinct monthly highlights section, and notes on the concepts and methodology of the survey." NOTE: this publication has been discontinued by Statistics Canada; the data are now available in CANSIM tables 281-0023 to 281-0049
- Employment patterns of families with children
This paper examines the employment patterns of families with children (under the age of 16) over the period from 1976 to 2014, with a particular focus on couple families with children. This article also highlights regional differences in the working patterns of parents and provides additional information on the employment patterns of lone parents.
- General Social Surveys
Several of these have had a work-related focus:
- Job Vacancy Statistics (Statistics Canada)
CANSIM tables on labour demand and job vacancy rate, and unemployed and unemployment-to-job vacancies ratio by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
- Labour Force Historical Review (1976-2010; Statistics Canada)
Includes: Activity prior to unemployment, Census metropolitan areas, Class of worker, public and private sector, Days lost from work, Detailed age, Duration of unemployment, Economic region, Education, Employment insurance region, Establishment size, Family, Hirings, Hours lost from work, Hours worked, Industry, Job tenure, Marital status, Multiple jobholders, Non-census metropolitan area, Occupation, Overtime, Reason for leaving last job, Reason for not looking, Reason for part-time work, Retirement age, Rural and urban areas, Seasonally adjusted, Students, Supplementary unemployment rates, Temporary/permanent, Type of work sought/search method, Union, Wage distributions, Wages.
- Labour Force Information (August 2002 - present)
This publication provides the most current monthly labour market statistics. Each month, this publication contains a brief commentary highlighting recent developments in the Canadian labour market. It also includes a series of charts and tables on a variety of labour force characteristics, such as employment and unemployment for Canada, the provinces, metropolitan areas and economic regions.
- Labour Force Survey ( Statistics Canada)
The Labour Force Survey (LFS) is a household survey carried out monthly by Statistics Canada. Data from the survey provide information on major labour market trends such as shifts in employment across industrial sectors, hours worked, labour force participation and unemployment rates. The LFS is the only source of monthly estimates of total employment including the self-employed, full and part-time employment, and unemployment. It publishes monthly standard labour market indicators such as the unemployment rate, the employment rate and the participation rate. The LFS is a major source of information on the personal characteristics of the working-age population, including age, sex, marital status, educational attainment, and family characteristics.
- Perspectives on labour and income 1989-2012 (Statistics Canada)
"... brings together and analyzes a wide range of labour and income data. Each issue presents approximately five articles covering topics such as youth in the labour market, pensions and retirement, work arrangements, education and training, and trends in the family income, to name a few. The publication also devotes sections to new products, surveys, research projects, conferences, and selected data from a database of more than 50 up-to-date labour and income statistical indicators." Continued by Insights on Canadian Society.
- Public Service Employee Survey (Statistics Canada)
Data is available on the opinions of employees in their work environment, job satisfaction, career movement, equipment needs and special needs.
- Standard Occupational Classifications
Links to information on
- National Occupational Classification (NOC)
- National Occupational Classification - Statistics (NOC-S)
- Standard Occupational Classification (SOC)
- International Standard Classification of Occupations (ISCO)
- Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics ( Statistics Canada)
The Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics (SLID) supports studies on the economic well-being of individuals and families and on the processes influencing this well-being. It aims to support research on topics such as: income dynamics, namely, movements into and out of poverty and the determinants of income changes experienced by individuals and families; labour market dynamics and life-cycle labour market transitions, such as school-to-work transitions; family dynamics, in particular their relation to economic well-being.
- Public-use microdata files via <odesi>
- Survey of Self-Employment ( Statistics Canada)
"The survey was conducted in April 2000 by Statistics Canada on behalf of Human Resources Development Canada (HRDC). It collected data on the socio-demographic characteristics of the self-employed, as well as the hours they work, previous work experience, participation in dental, health and disability plans, income security, and their attitudes towards self-employment. "
- Public-use microdata file via <odesi>
- Tables by subject: Labour, employment and unemployment ( Statistics Canada)
Tabular data on: Labour force; Participation; Average weekly hours; Class of worker; Employment by industry or occupation; Place of work; Travel to work; Earnings; Organized labour; Employment Insurance and pensions
Foreign/International
- Bureau of Labour Statistics ((U.S.)
"The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Our mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making."
- Economically active population estimates and projections, 1950-2025
Location: Humanities and Social Sciences - Government Document Collection ZZ LB1 1986 E11
- Employment Statistics (OECD)
- Foreign Labor Statistics
"Provides international comparisons of hourly compensation costs; productivity and unit labor costs; labor force, employment and unemployment rates; and consumer prices. The comparisons relate primarily to the major industrial countries, but other countries are included in certain measures."
- ILOSTAT (2009-present)
"This new ILO database of labour statistics provides annual and infra-annual labour market statistics for over 100 indicators and nearly 200 countries. The Yearly indicators dataset contains standardized indicators for purposes of greater comparability across countries and relies heavily on the official submission of data by national authorities. The Short term indicators dataset contains monthly, quarterly and half-year data drawn from official websites of national authorities and is updated on a monthly basis." Pre-2009 data available from LABORSTA.
- Issues in Labor Statistics
"Succinct, up-to-the-minute, background papers on current topics."
- Key Indicators of the Labour Market (ILO)
"Published every two years since 1999, the KILM is a collection of 20 key indicators of the labour market, ranging from employment and variables relating to employment (status, sector, hours, etc.) to the lack of work and the characteristics of jobseekers, education, wages and compensation costs, labour productivity and working poverty. Taken together, the indicators give a strong foundation from which to begin addressing key questions related to productive employment and decent work."
- LABORSTA -- Labour statistics from the ILO Bureau of Statistics (1945-2008; ILO)
Annual time-series from the ILO Yearbook of Labour Statistics. Data presented cover 7 subjects (employment, unemployment, hours of work, wages, labour costs, work-related injuries, strikes and lockouts) in 23 tables for some 200 countries.Note that data from 2009 onwards available from ILOSTAT.
- National publications and statistical yearbooks, current statistics and Internet sites (United Nations)
Links to statistical agencies of individual countries.
