Guides: Management and Business: GMCA Annual Case Competition

Welcome - GMCA Case Competition

GMCA Library Workshop Presentation
Presentation given by the Liaison Librarians for Management and Business, Dawn McKinnon & Amanda Wheatley, 2022.

GMCA Resources
Examples of cases and slide decks, Excel tools and more, from GMCA

Sofia Discovery tool | SEARCH McGILL RESOURCES

Research Articles and Newspapers

You can search these databases for articles on topics related to the case.

You'll also need to use these sources to locate information that is not available through the company or industry research databases.

Journal and magazine articles

For the best results you'll want to repeat your search in more than one database.

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of articles from key trade publications, scholarly journals, conference proceedings, market reports, etc.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of articles from scholarly and trade journals, working papers, as well as market reports and industry reports.
Google Scholar
Useful for finding relevant articles, although the coverage isn't as comprehensive as the databases listed above.
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database) (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Canadian business and current affairs magazines.

Newspaper articles

Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
News articles from over 32,000 top news sources from around the world.
Canadian Newsstream (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from over 300 Canadian newspapers. English-language only.
Eureka
- This link opens in a new window
The only database that includes articles from French-language newspapers. Change source from "all content" to "Canada (FR)" to search all major French-language newspapers in Canada.

Tips on searching for information on fintech and legal/regulatory issues
Searching the journal and magazine article databases listed above for something like "financial technology" regulation canada will return several relevant articles.

Industry & Market Reports

You can search our industry research databases for reports on industries, markets, and product segments.

Tips
Use reports from multiple databases to get a complete picture of an industry.
If you can't find a report for the Canadian market, look for a US report and determine if the information there could be applied to the Canadian context.

IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
Industry reports and business environment profiles. (Canada, U.S.)
Mintel Academic
- This link opens in a new window
Focus on consumer products and services. (Canada & US)
Passport (Euromonitor)
- This link opens in a new window
Focus on consumer products and services. (International)
License information can be found here: License Terms of Use
MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Broad range of industries. (International)
eMarketer
- This link opens in a new window
Reports related to e-business and digital aspects of 12 broad industries.

Consumer Research

Similar to industry reports, these reports are based on a combination of primary and secondary source data.

Mintel Academic
- This link opens in a new window
Reports include a databook spreadsheet containing details on consumer behaviour and preferences.
Passport (Euromonitor)
- This link opens in a new window
Reports on consumer lifestyles (click Consumers at the top of the page) provide details on trends in different areas: digital consumer, households, income & expenditures, lifestyles, population.
License information can be found here: License Terms of Use
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap)
- This link opens in a new window
Create maps and reports using Canadian demographic data.
You must create an account if you want to save your work. Limited to 5 users at a time.
Vivintel
- This link opens in a new window
Psychographic and demographic data on Canadian consumers.

Company Research

Note: It is easier to find information on public companies as they are required to make corporate reports, financial reports, and other information publicly available. Private companies have no such obligation, so information is harder to find.

Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Provides company overview, history, executive profiles, annual reports, financials, supply chain data, etc.

CB Insights
Venture capital database of startups and private companies. Includes brief company description, financing details, and board members.
VPN for off-campus access. You will also need to create an account using your McGill email address.

MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Provides company overview, history, executive profiles, annual reports, financials, supply chain data, etc.

Statistics and Data

Databases

Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Business-related statistics from a wide range of sources. (International)
eMarketer
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics related to e-business.

Statistics Canada

Statistics Canada provides data and statistics on a wide range of subjects.

CANSIM: Main database for accessing StatsCan data. Tables can be customized to change scope, time coverage, etc.

You can browse for data:

by subject
geographically
by survey or program (ex Census, Survey of Household Spending, Labour Force Survey, etc)

Additional Sources

Institut de la statistique du Québec*
Montréal en statistiques* (Ville de Montréal)
International statistics (EIU, IMF, OECD, UN, etc)

* Quebec and Montreal are listed here as examples. Most provinces, states, and major cities will have statistics portals similar to these.

Country Research

These resources are useful for understanding the broader context of any market or business that you are interested in

EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit
- This link opens in a new window
Analysis and forecasts of political, economic and business environments in more than 180 countries.
MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
PESTLE reports (political, economic, social, technological, legal and environmental) for over 100 countries.

Using Google to find information online

You can often find reports on companies, industries, and products online using Google.

For example, to find reports on the fintech industry, you can search for:

"financial technology" industry report filetype:pdf

Here's an example of the kind of report that you can find using this search:

Fintech in New York City, December 2015. NYCEDC Economic & Research Analysis.

Note that reports of this type are often published online as PDF files, so including filetype:pdf in your search limits helps to focus your search. You can always leave this out if you want to retrieve content in any format.