Guides: Maps & Geospatial Data: Topographic maps of Europe

Topographic maps of Europe

McGill Library has a collection of international topographic maps of many countries throughout the world. The international topographic maps are located in the grey map cabinets and are organized by Continent then alphabetically by country name.

How to access the following maps: Email Sharon Rankin with the relevant info from the tables

There are some map records in the Catalogue but the majority are not found in the Catalogue. We encourage you to ask staff at McGill Library for assistance.

Eastern Europe

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
	1936-44	1:300 000	27 sheets		Int.Topo. 5
AMS N501	1948-63	1:250 000	85%	link	Int.Topo. 5
	1940-42	1:100 000	10 sheets		Int.Topo. 5

Western Europe

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
AMS M501	1958-69	1:250 000	28%	link	Int.Topo. 5

Northern Europe

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
AMS M515	1951-62	1:250 000	13%	link	Int.Topo. 5

Southeastern Europe

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
D403	1941-44	1:200 000	62%	link	Int.Topo. 5

Central Europe

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
AMS 673	1960	1:100 000	7 Sheets		Int.Topo. 5
AMS 657 GSGS 4416	1942-44	1:100 000	77%	link	Int.Topo. 5

The Balkans

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
AMS M506	1944-48	1:250 000	79 %	link	Int.Topo. 6
AMS M736	1937-43	1:50 000	63 sheets		Int.Topo. 6

Iberian Peninsula

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
AMS M581 GSGS 4455	1944-47	1:250 000	26%	link	Int.Topo. 7

Albania

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
MDR 639	1943-44	1:50 000	20%	link	Int.Topo. 5

Austria

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
	1959-72	1:200 000	52%	link	Int.Topo. 5
	1968-75	1:50 000	99%	link	Int.Topo. 5

Belgium

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
M632	1957-62	1:100 000	100%	link	Int.Topo. 6
	1943-44	1:50 000	24%	link	Int.Topo. 6

Bulgaria

Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
1943-44	1:250 000	92%	link	Int.Topo. 6
1939-43	1:100 000	13%	link	Int.Topo. 6
1955	1:50 000	18%	link	Int.Topo. 6

Czechslovakia (Former)

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
	1936-37	1:200 000	42 %	link	Int.Topo. 6

Denmark

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
	1969-76	1:100 000	97%	link	Int.Topo. 6

Faeroe Islands

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
	1967	1:200 000	100%	link	Int.Topo. 6
	1945-62	1:100 000	100%	link	Int.Topo. 6

Finland

Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
1968-75	1:400 000	96%	link	Int.Topo. 6
1968-77	1:100 000	<5%	link	Int.Topo. 6
1975-77	1:50 000	<5%	link	Int.Topo. 6
1974-77	1:20 000	<5%	link	Int.Topo. 6

France

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
	1958-66	1:250 000	95%	link	Int.Topo. 6
	1958-74	1:100 000	3		Int.Topo. 6
	1980	1:50 000	19		Int.Topo. 6
	1953-71	1:50 000	68		Int.Topo. 6
M864	1957-58	1:25 000	68		Int.Topo. 6

Germany

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Location
	1963-73	1:200 000	39	Int.Topo. 6
645	1963-74	1:100 000	116	Int.Topo. 6
648	1985-88	1:100 000	54	Int.Topo. 6
	1960-89	1:50 000	247
	1944-52	1:25 000	25

Great Britain

Dates	Scale	Coverage	Location
1973-76	1:250 000	17	Int.Topo. 10
1953-68	1:63 360	90	Int.Topo. 10
1980-84	1:50 000	203	Int.Topo. 10
1968-76	1:25 000	520	Int.Topo. 10

Greece

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
	1943-44	1:250 000	75%	link	Int.Topo. 7
	1944-45	1:100 000	96%	link	Int.Topo. 7

Hungary

Dates	Scale	Coverage	Location
1930-35	1:75 000	4	Int.Topo. 7
1943	1:50 000	2	Int.Topo. 7
1925-39	1:25 000	3	Int.Topo. 7

Iceland

Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
1944	1:250 000	100 %	link	Int.Topo. 7
1948-66	1:250 000	100%	link	Int.Topo. 7
1941	1:50 000	<5%	link	Int.Topo. 7

Ireland

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	I	Location
	1961-66	1:250 000	100%	link	Int.Topo. 8
	1961-63	1:126 720	8%	link	Int.Topo. 8

Italy

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
	1933-50	1:50 000	28%	link	Int.Topo. 8

Malta

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
	1964-66	1:2 500	88%	link	Int.Topo. 8
	1962-63	1:25 000	100%	link	Int.Topo. 8

Netherlands

Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
1974-75	1:250 000	100%	link	Int.Topo. 8
1956-58	1:100 000	100%	link	Int.Topo. 8
1962-75	1:50 000	22%	link	Int.Topo. 8
1959	1:25 000	39		Int.Topo. 8
1975	1:25 000	23		Int.Topo. 8

Norway

Series	Dates	Scale	Coverage	Index	Location
	1973	1:500 000	100 %	link	Int.Topo. 8
	1956-72	1:50 000	57		Int.Topo. 8

Poland

Dates	Scale	Coverage	Location
1953-59	1:50 000	59	Int.Topo. 9
1944	1:100 000	75	Int.Topo. 9
1958	1:100 000	7	Int.Topo. 9
1930-38	1:100 000	133	Int.Topo. 9
1941-43	1:100 000	72	Int.Topo. 9
1920-39	1:300 000	2	Int.Topo. 9
1947	1:500 000	12	Int.Topo. 9

Romania

Dates	Scale	Coverage	Location
1934-39	1:100 000	19	Int.Topo. 9
1943-44	1:100 000	65	Int.Topo. 9
1943-45	1:250 000	14	Int.Topo. 9

Spain

Dates	Scale	Coverage	Location
1952	1:25 000	1	Int.Topo. 9
1937-68	1:50 000	36	Int.Topo. 9
1949-51	1:100 000	7	Int.Topo. 9

Sweden

Dates	Scale	Coverage	Location
1953-54	1:50 000	4	Int.Topo. 9
1970-71	1:250 000	46	Int.Topo. 9
1952-54	1:250 000	7	Int.Topo. 9

Switzerland

Dates	Scale	Coverage	Location
1953-71	1:25 000	7	Int.Topo. 9
1950-72	1:50 000	32	Int.Topo. 9
1958-64	1:100 000	21	Int.Topo. 9

USSR (Former)

Dates	Scale	Coverage	Location
1942	1:50 000	31	Int.Topo. 9
1942	1:100 000	4	Int.Topo. 9
1932-39	1:100 000	6	Int.Topo. 9
1951-58	1:250 000	13	Int.Topo. 9

Yugoslavia (Former)

Dates	Scale	Coverage	Location
1958-60	1:50 000	3	Int.Topo. 10
1914	1:75 000	7	Int.Topo. 10
1931-43	1:100 000	160	Int.Topo. 10
1943-44	1:250 000	30	Int.Topo. 10