Maps & Geospatial Data

Geographers, urban planners, architects, historians, and other researchers require access to primary source information about the city of Montréal. This is a selected list of services and information offered in the Montréal region.

• BAnQ Numerique : Digital collections containing books, maps, periodicals, photographs and a host of other documents belonging to Quebec's heritage.

• Map Library - Université du Québec à Montréal : Collection consists of Canadian maps, atlases, aerial photographs and other resources accessible for public consultation. 

• Geomatics Service / Comptoir de la géomatique : Up-to-date print maps of cadastral boundaries, landuse drawings, property line maps, street line-maps, public property land registry.

• Montréal Metropolitan Community / Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal (CMM) : The CMM provides territorial, thematic and flood zone maps. They work with planning and financing of at-scale projects. 

• City of Montréal Archives : The archives contain extensive historical documents including but not limited to landuse plans and aerial photos from 1796 onwards. 

• Images of Montréal, Canadian Metropolis : This a collection of 300 images taken from old documents: L'Opinion publique, a weekly published in Montréal from 1870 to 1883, Artwork on Montréal illustrated 1894.

• Montréal: Municipalité et métropole 1920-1960 : A searchable database of photographs, containing 301 historical photographs of Montréal that range from buildings, places and people.

•  Master Plan, City of Montréal / Plan d'urbanisme, Ville de Montréal : The 2050 Plan takes into account the needs of the population and serves as a framework for actions to be taken with respect to mobility, housing, economic development, ecological transition, public facilities, the environment and heritage. 

• Property Valuation Department / Service de l'évaluation : This department produces, maintains and defends property valuation and rental value rolls for taxation purposes in accordance with the Act respecting Municipal Taxation. 

• MEM - Centre of the history of Montréal / Centre d’histoire de Montréal : The MEM - Centre d’histoire de Montréal is a museum with permanent and temporary exhibitions about the history of the City of Montréal.

• Écomusée du Fier Monde : Ecomusée du fier monde is a museum that focuses on the industrial and working class history of Montréal.

• Pointe-à-Callière: Montréal Archaeology and History Complex : The museum has both a permanent and temporary collections about the history and archaeology of the region of Montréal.