Skip to main content
Recent Statistics Canada releases
- Adult education and training survey (Statistics Canada)
"The objectives of the survey are: to measure the incidence of adult education and training in Canada in a comprehensive manner; to provide a socioeconomic and demographic profile of individuals who participate and do not participate in adult education and training; profile the types, duration and location of training and education that individuals receive; to profile employer involvement in the training and education process; and to identify barriers faced by individuals who wish to take some form of education and training but cannot. "
- Application statistics (Council of Ontario Universities)
"This report presents summary statistics on application and registration patterns of applicants (who were processed by the Application Centre) applying for fall entry into full-time study in their first year at an Ontario university."
- Canadian statistics on education, training and learning (Statistics Canada)
Free tabular data on: Enrolment; Graduates; School attendance and educational attainment; Finances; Employment
- CANSIM tables on education, training and learning (Statistics Canada)
Time-series data on: adult education and training; education finance; educational attainment; fields of study; outcomes of education; students. See also CANSIM cross-classified database: education
- CAUT Almanac of Post-Secondary Education (Canadian Association of University Teachers)
" ... an annual publication bringing together a wealth of information about Canada's universities and colleges in an accessible format". Available from 2002-present.
- Education indicators in Canada: an international perspective (Statistics Canada)
This report is a product of the Pan-Canadian Education Indicators Program (PCEIP). It is intended to facilitate the comparison of educational systems in Canada's provinces and territories with those of countries that belong to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). The document presents a series of indicators harmonized to the definitions and methodologies used by the OECD in Education at a Glance. The indicators are designed to serve as a basis for decision making and for development of programs in the field of education.
- Education indicators in Canada: Report of the Pan-Canadian Education Indicators Program (Statistics Canada)
These statistical indicators of education in Canada cover various aspects of the elementary, secondary and postsecondary education, such as enrolment, graduation and human resources, as well as the financing of the education systems in Canada. This report is the publication of the Canadian Education Statistics Council and was produced by Statistics Canada and the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada, in collaboration with the provinces and territories. Additional details can be obtained from the Council of Ministers of Education (CMEC) website.
- Education Quality and Accountability Office (EQAO) Data Portal
"EQAO is an independent agency of the Ontario government. EQAO provides accurate, objective and clear information about student achievement and the quality of publicly funded education in Ontario. In addition, EQAO works to ensure that this information is used to bring about improvement for individual students and for the education system as a whole." Provides access to selected EQAO data files. In addition, the site provides school, board and provincial results for elementary and secondary schools (1996-1997 to the present) as well as other reports on national and international assessments.
- Facts & figures: statistical information from Ontario universities (Council of Ontario Universities)
- Financial reports of Ontario universities (static / customized / highlights)
COFO (Council of Ontario Finance Officers) prepares an annual financial report on sector financial details that extends the sector’s commitment to transparency and accountability, by augmenting the publishing of audited financial statements by member institutions. The Report is comprised of tables that have been compiled from submissions prepared by each publically-assisted university and its affiliated and federated institutions. The financial information is categorized according to major fund groups: operating, ancillary, sponsored research, trust, capital and endowment, and captured in static and customized reports. The static and customized reports contain the same underlying data. Static reports present the data in prescribed tables, whereas customized reports can be generated by users as desired, e.g. time-series analyses and institutional comparisons. An instruction manual is available to guide readers on how to produce customized reports.
- General Social Surveys on education topics (Statistics Canada)
- Guide to Data on Elementary and Secondary Education in Canada (PDF)(Statistics Canada)
- Guide to Statistics Canada information and data sources on adult education and training (Statistics Canada) (PDF)
- Measuring Up: Canadian Results of the OECD PISA Study (Statistics Canada)
The Program for International Student Assessment (PISA) is designed to assess, on a regular basis, the achievement of 15-year-olds in reading, mathematical and scientific literacy through a common international test. These reports provide results of the PISA assessments of student performance at the provincial level, and compare the achievement of Canadian students to that of students internationally.
- National Graduates Survey (Statistics Canada)
This survey was designed to determine such factors as: the extent to which 1982, 1986, 1990 and 1995 graduates postsecondary programs had been successful in obtaining employment since graduation; the relationship between the graduates' programs of study and the employment subsequently obtained; the graduates' job and career satisfaction; the rates of under-employment and unemployment; the type of employment obtained related to career expectations and qualification requirements; and the influence of postsecondary education on occupational achievement. There are also follow-up surveys of 1982 and 1990 graduates.
- Public-use microdata file via <odesi>
- Access restrictions: DLI
- A report on adult education and training in Canada: learning a living (Statistics Canada)
"This report presents, for the first time, evidence on the development of adult education and training in Canada during the last decade. Examined are not only broad trends in the demand and supply of adult education, but also the factors contributing to observed developments. Survey data collected in 1998 allow readers to gauge the current situation and make comparisons over time and across Canadian provinces. The findings indicate, first, that growth in adult education participation has slowed in recent years, and second, that there are major differences between the provinces in who gets trained, and how much."
- School Leavers Survey (Statistics Canada)
"This survey collected information on the level of education attained, experiences in school, family background, etc., from individuals 18-20 years old who are classified into one of three groups: dropped out of high school before graduation; still in high school; and graduated. " The original survey was carried out in 1991, with a follow-up done in 1995.
- Public-use microdata file via <odesi>
- Summary Elementary and Secondary School Indicators for Canada, the Provinces and Territories, 2006/2007 to 2010/2011 (Statistics Canada)
The goal of this project is to collect elementary/secondary expenditure data and to replace several surveys which were used for the collection of enrolment, graduate, and educator data. These included the former Elementary-Secondary School Enrolment Survey, the Secondary School Graduate Survey, the Elementary-Secondary Education Staff Survey and the Principal's Statistical Report as the official collection tools for elementary-secondary enrolments, graduates, and staff data. Although this project collects expenditure data, the Survey of Uniform Financial System – School Boards survey remains active. The main objectives of this collection tool are to produce relevant, comparable and timely statistics and to reduce the respondent burden on educational organisations and school principals.
- Comparative Indicators of Education in the United States and Other G-20 Countries: 2015
"... draws on the information about education from the International Indicators of Education Systems (INES) project at the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), as well as international assessments ranging across the lifespan from grade 4 through adulthood. Topics covered include population and school enrollment, academic performance, contexts for learning, expenditure for education, and educational attainment and income. The G-20 countries, which are among the most economically developed, represent 85 percent of the world’s economy and two-thirds of its population, and are some of the United States’ largest economic partners. This report is the latest in a series that has been published since 2002. Previous reports focused on the G-8 countries. This is the first to focus on the G-20 countries. "
- Education at a glance database (OECD; 1998-present)
OECD's annual Education at a Glance looks at who participates in education, what is spent on it, how education systems operate and the results achieved. The latter includes indicators on a wide range of outcomes, from comparisons of students’ performance in key subject areas to the impact of education on earnings and on adults’ chances of employment. These reports links to Excel spreadsheets containing the background data.
- Education statistics (World Bank)
The World Bank EdStats All Indicator Query holds around 3,000 internationally comparable indicators that describe education access, progression, completion, literacy, teachers, population, and expenditures. The indicators cover the education cycle from pre-primary to vocational and tertiary education. The query also holds learning outcome data from international and regional learning assessments (e.g. PISA, TIMSS, PIRLS), equity data from household surveys, and projection/attainment data to 2050.
- National Center for Education Statistics (United States)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S..
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics
From pre-primary school enrolment to tertiary graduation rates, the UIS is the leading source for international education statistics. Covering more than 200 countries and territories, the UIS database covers all education levels and addresses key policy issues such as gender parity, teachers and financing.
- UNESCO World Atlas of Gender Equality in Education (UNESCO)
"With over 120 maps, charts and tables, the UNESCO World Atlas of Gender Equality in Education enables readers to visualize the educational pathways of girls and boys in terms of access, participation and progression from pre-primary to tertiary education. The Atlas features a wide range of sex-disaggregated data and gender indicators [...]. It also illustrates the extent to which gender disparities in education have changed since 1970 and are shaped by factors such as national wealth, geographic location, investment in education and fields of study. "
- World Development Indicators (World Bank)
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the World Bank's annual compilation of data about development, covering a wide range of topics including education.