Skip to main content

McGill Community for Lifelong Learning (MCLL)

A guide to help MCLL members navigate McGill Library and discover resources to support their lifelong learning.

Periodicals in the Library catalogue: Newspapers, journals and magazines

WorldCat Discovery: Enter your title or key words into the catalogue search box. It contains all of the titles that the Library subscribes to, whether print, electronic, or microform. WorldCat Discovery - Periodicals PDF "how to"; Saving and sharing records PDF "how to"

Discovery uses both Newspaper and Journal, Magazine as format types. They can be limited further to digital versions by using eNewspaper and eJournal, eMagazine.

Location notes:

  • The latest issues of frequently used newspapers and magazines can be found in the Current Periodicals section on the main floor of the Humanities and Social Sciences Library.
  • There is a microform viewing room on the 2nd floor of the Humanities and Social Sciences Library.

Newspaper and magazine collections

PressReader: Provides access to thousands of newspapers and magazines just as they appear in print. It includes the Montreal Gazette, La Presse Saturday edition, and The Globe and Mail, but it also has titles from over 100 different countries. PressReader PDF "how to"

Proquest news databases: Canadian Newsstream, US Newsstream, International Newsstream (outside of the US and Canada), Global Newsstream

Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q): Covers subjects related to Canada. Includes many regional Canadian newspapers. CPI.Q PDF "how to"

Revues et journaux Québécois: Extensive collection of Quebec newspapers from the BAnQ.

More detailed information about current and historical newspapers can be found on McGill Library’s guide to finding newspapers.


Academic journal articles

WorldCat Discovery is not the best place to search for academic articles. However, the Library subscribes to hundreds of databases that facilitate finding papers on a particular subject. Some of the databases have the full text of papers, while others provide only the abstracts and citation details.

Visit our Databases A-Z list.

Get The Research: Free search engine that highlights and explains concepts. Can limit to open access papers only.

Google Scholar: The scholarly version of Google is free and a great place to go if you only need one or two articles.

Scopus: Large multidisciplinary database. Scopus PDF "how to"

Do you want to magnify this webpage? Try holding down the command key (Mac) or the Windows logo key and press the plus sign (+) as many times as needed.

MCLL Liaison Librarian

April Colosimo's picture
April Colosimo
Contact: Website

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice