Guides: impact200: Market Research

Best Bets for Industry & Consumer Research

IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
Industry reports and business environment profiles. (Canada, U.S.)

Description

IBISWorld reports include industry performance, competitors, competitive landscape, product and market information, operating conditions and more.

Coverage

United States and Canada

Support documents from IBISWorld can be found below.

How to use

IBISWorld is easy to keyword search in, you can type in your industry topic on choice and review the related reports. There are three different report types, including industry reports, iExpert reports, and business environment reports.

Make sure to visit each tab of the report to get a well-rounded understanding of your industry. Often we confuse our product or service to be an industry itself, so you are having difficulty finding a report, try first classifying your industry with a NAICS code.

Supporting Documents

APA citations for IBISWorld

Reference List
Author, Initial. (Date). Title of Report. Retrieved from Name of Library database.
Ex. Ozelkan, E. (2018, August). IBISWorld industry report 45411aCA: E-commerce & online auctions in Canada. Retrieved from IBISWorld database.

In-text Citation
(Author, Year)

MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Intelligence reports and analysis for business and industry sectors, with company listings and geographic browsing options.

Description

MarketLine is an industry resource with international scope. It's main features include market segmentation, market share, company SWOT analysis, and five forces analysis.

Coverage

International reports from over 80 countries.

right side of page search filters

How to use

When conducting an industry search, you may start with a basic topic like e-commerce. By searching in all report types you can use the right side filters to guide your search to a more specific topic report.

MarketLine reports are multi-tabbed and contain a lot of valuable information that will help you in your course work. You can export the reports as a PDF or read them online. When reading online be sure to view every tab on the report!

Market Data Analytics

At the top of the website, select Databases and Market Data Analytics to use MarketLine's insight tool on market data for consumer goods and services. The data can be split by category, country, and is available in both value and volume. Distribution graphics are also available.

Supporting Documents

MarketLine - Market Data Analytics User Guide

APA citations for MarketLine

Reference List
Corporate Author. (Date). Title of report. Retrieved from Name of Library database.
MarketLine. (2017, October). Millennial consumers: Understanding key trends driving consumer behaviours. Retrieved from MarketLine database.

In-text Citation
(Corporate Author, Year)

Mintel Academic
- This link opens in a new window
Industry/category reports, trends and demographic information for consumer-related products and services. (Canada, U.S.)

Description

Mintel is an industry database with a focus on consumer goods and services, the reports contain industry background information, an overview of the competitive environment, market shares, and interactive consumer data.

Coverage

Canada and United States.

How to use

Mintel is a keyword driven database and easy to use. Simply search your concept terms and narrow down the type of report you want to use. You can limit content to specific countries, dates, or report types. Note that the larger industry reports are only available for Canada and U.S., though you can find Insight, Trends, and News articles from other countries.

Some industry reports come with an Interactive Databook that can be used to gather more granular consumer data. Each survey question can be explored to adjust the demographics.

To download a Mintel report, you will need to create an account within Mintel using your McGill email.

APA citation for Mintel

Reference List
Author, Initial. (Date). Title of the report. Retrieved from Name of Library database.
Bloom, B. (2018). Breakfast Foods - US - July 2018. Retrieved from Mintel database.

In-text Citation
(Last Name, Year)

Passport
- This link opens in a new window
Industry/category reports, trends and demographic information for consumer-related products and services. (International)
License information can be found here: License Terms of Use

Description

Passport is a database from Euromonitor International and contains information on industries, consumers, and companies related to consumer goods and services. Reports include history and trends, market share, brand share, retail sales data, consumer lifestyles data, and more.

Coverage

International.

How to use

There are many different ways to retrieve information in Passport, depending on your research question. The keyword search at the top of the page is a great place to start if you are new to Passport. Below are a few tricks you can use to refine your search.

Search by Industries
- Using the Industries tab at the top of the page, choose the category that best fits your topic.
- From here you can search statistics, country reports, company profiles, etc on that topic.
Search by Consumers
- Using the Consumers tab at the topic of the page, choose the category that best fits your topic.
- The "Lifestyles" page offers interactive consumer survey data on shopping habits, preferences, and attitudes across various different topics.

APA citations for Passport

Reference List
Corporate Author. (Date.) Title of the report or page. Retrieved from Name of Library database.
Euromonitor. (2019). Beer in Canada: Country report. Retrieved from Passport database.

In-text Citation
(Corporate Author, Year)

eMarketer
- This link opens in a new window

Description

eMarketer is a database that provides reports related to 2-business in multiple industries. You can find articles, trend reports, and statistics.

Coverage

International.

How to use

eMarketer can be easily searches using keywords or by using the advanced filters under the search bar. You can limit your search by Topic, Industry, and Geography. After searching you can also apply additional filters like content type and demographics to get more specific results.

APA citations for eMarketer

Reference List
Corporate Author or Analyst. (Date.) Title of the report or page. Retrieved from Name of Library database.
Droesch, B. (2020). Amazon vs. Walmart: Who's really winning online grocery? Retrieved from eMarketer database.

In-text Citation
(Corporate Author, Year)

Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Company reports including annual reports, company history, executive profiles, financials, supply chain data, etc. (International)
Conference Board of Canada e-library
- This link opens in a new window

Additional Research Guides

Industry Classification Codes

North American Industry Classification Codes (NAICS)
Established in 1997, NAICS is an up-to 6 digit classification code used to designate a company’s business activities through the US, Canada, and Mexico.

Market Research Canvas

Market Research Canvas
Adapted from the Business Model Canvas, this guide will help you on your market research journey. Consider each section using the databases provided on this site.

Business Model Canvas created by Alexander Osterwalder in 2008.

Market Research Canvas adapted by Amanda Wheatley in 2019.

McGill Library Subscription Databases

The following databases should be used only in an academic capacity and associated with your work here at McGill University. Only current students have access to these tools. For information on publicly available resources, see below.