Guides: impact200: International Information

Data & Statistics

ILOSTAT
International Labour Organization Statistics database.

World Development Indicators (World Bank)
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates. [Note: Even though Global Development Finance (GDF) is no longer listed in the WDI database name, all external debt and financial flows data continue to be included in WDI. The GDF publication has been renamed International Debt Statistics (IDS), and has its own separate database, as well.]
International Financial Statistics (IMF)
- This link opens in a new window

EU Statistics and opinion polls
Access to all statistics published by the EU.
OEC: Observatory of Economic Complexity
Visualization of international trade data. See About > Data to download data sets.

Finding Reports from Business Databases

PAIS Index (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Asian Business Database (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information for the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions. - Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
India Database (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Ongoing full-text academic journals locally published by scholarly organizations and educational institutions in India. Subject areas include business, medical, science, technology, engineering, and social sciences.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Reource for business, management and trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, SSRN working papers, business cases and global and trade news.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of articles from scholarly and trade journals, working papers, as well as market reports and industry reports.
EconLit (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit
- This link opens in a new window
Contains link to The Economist newspaper

Description

The Economist Intelligence Unit contains a suite of resources that can be used for country analysis, their country reports and commerce pages contain information of forecasts of political, economic, and business environments.

Coverage

Over 180 countries.

MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Intelligence reports and analysis for business and industry sectors, with company listings and geographic browsing options.

Description

MarketLine Advantage contains PEST/LE (political, economic, social, technological, legal, and environmental) reports.

Coverage

Over 100 countries.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of articles from scholarly and trade journals, working papers, as well as market reports and industry reports.

Description

Business Source Complete provides country reports, risk assessments, and forecasts from a variety of sources. Also provides access to previous versions of reports.

Coverage

Over 100 countries.

How to use

There are a few different ways to access the country reports. You can select the Publications tab at the top of the screen and for "Name of Country Country Report". You can also use the same keywords in the basic or advanced search. Make sure to pay attention to the date of the report.

Business Source Complete Publications tab search for Canada Country Report

Passport
- This link opens in a new window
Industry/category reports, trends and demographic information for consumer-related products and services. (International)
License information can be found here: License Terms of Use

Description

Passport GMID is a Euromonitor International database and contains country profiles in relation to their consumer goods and services.

Coverage

Over 50 countries.

How to use

You can search for a specific country or use the country rankings dashboard to build your own tables, maps, or reports on different consumer topics.

Passport homepage search bar

World Factbook
Produced by the CIA in the US, the Factbook is an excellent starting point for background information on more than 260 countries.

Description

The World Factbook is produced by the CIA in the US and is an excellent starting point for background information, economic data, social data, imports and exports, government structures, and more.

Coverage

Over 260 countries.