Guides: Entrepreneurship: Market and Industry Research

McGill Library Subscription Databases

The following databases should be used only in an academic capacity and associated with your work here at McGill University. Only current students have access to these tools. For information on publicly available resources, see below.

Subscription Databases for Market and Industry Research

IBISWorld
US and Canada reports on various industries, contains key trends, market forecasts, barriers to entry, and more.
MarketLine Advantage
Global industry reports and case studies, containing market segmentation, market share, threats, and more.
Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Gartner
McGill subscription contains select access to research reports on knowledge and insight on IT trends, best practices, digital strategy, and governance and policy development.

Statistics Canada
Government statistics available on various topics and industries.
Census (Statistics Canada Website)
Population data on Canadians, split by gender, income, education, ethnicity, language, and more

SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap)
Custom interactive maps of Canada based on demographic and business factors. Only 5 simultaneous users allowed.

CHASS Canadian Census Analyzer
This tool, developed at the University of Toronto, is useful for pulling particular variables from the published Census of Canada data. It includes Census data as far back as 1961.

Passport (Euromonitor)
Industry/category reports, trends and demographic information for consumer-related products and services. (International)

License information can be found here: License Terms of Use
Mintel Academic
Industry/category reports, trends and demographic information for consumer-related products and services. (Canada, U.S.)
Vivintel
NOTE: Vivintel will be down due to maintenance, January 29-31, 2025.
eMarketer
Contains reports, charts and data about marketing, social media, technology and its usage. Global coverage.

CB Insights
Venture capital database of startups and private companies. Includes brief company description, financing details, and board members.
VPN for off-campus access. You will also need to create an account using your McGill email address.

Mergent Market Atlas
Details on company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. Provides access to a multitude of company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views and reports.

Market Research Canvas

Market Research Canvas
Adapted from the Business Model Canvas, this guide will help you on your market research journey. Consider each section using the databases provided on this site.

Business Model Canvas created by Alexander Osterwalder in 2008.

Market Research Canvas adapted by Amanda Wheatley in 2019.

Publicly Accessible Industry Research Tools

Bloomberg Markets
Articles and analyst reports about top and emerging markets, provided by Bloomberg.
Canadian Industry Statistics
From the Government of Canada - this website analyzes industry data, including trends, financial information, and more.
National Industry Associations
Lists of associations and directories for Canadian industries.
European Commission - Industry Profiles
Reports on the top industries and sectors within the European Union.
KPMG Industry Reports
Independent analyst reports and articles on key industries and new verticals.
PwC Research & Insights
Independent reports created by PriceWaterhouseCooper, available by service or industry.
Trade Data Online
The latest trade data provided by Statistics Canada and the U.S. Census Bureau. This database is searchable by product or industry.
SIS International Industry Reports
Broad/general industry reports by independent analysts.
UBC Small Business Accelerator Guides
A list of comprehensive small business guides put together by the University of British Columbia.

Publicly Accessible Market Research Tools

Census (Statistics Canada Website)
Population data on Canadians, split by gender, income, education, ethnicity, language, and more
Data.gov
Data, tools, and resources on various American markets.
Find My Audience (YouTube specific)
Find My Audience helps you understand who your most valuable customers are on YouTube — so you can discover new audiences and learn how to reach them individually with relevant messages.
Google Trends
Search the progression of trending topics, people, and things over the course of time and geography.
Market Finder
Take your business to new markets -
Try Google's free tool to identify new potential markets, discover helpful operational information and start selling to customers at home and around the world.
RBC Economic Updates
Timely economic forecasts and analysis for Canadian markets.
UNData
A database designed by the United Nations Statistics Division which combines several major UN databases and other international organizations into one easy-to-search database.
United Nations Demographics and Social Statistics
Includes global population and housing census data, gender statistics, civil registration and vital statistics, disability statistics, and more.
United States Census Bureau
Demographic and social data for the United States of America.
World Bank Open Data
The World Bank Open Data site provides, "free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe." Among the datasets included are the World Development Indicators (WDI), Africa Development Indicators (ADI), Gender Statistics, Worldwide Governance Indicators, Global Economic Monitor (GEM), Education Statistics, etc. Most of the data is available in Arabic, French, Spanish and Chinese in addition to English.
World Factbook
Produced by the CIA in the US, the Factbook is an excellent starting point for background information on more than 260 countries.

Industry Classification Codes

North American Industry Classification Codes (NAICS)
Established in 1997, NAICS is an up-to 6 digit classification code used to designate a company’s business activities through the US, Canada, and Mexico.