Guides: Entrepreneurship: Funding and Financial Benchmarking

McGill Library Subscription Databases

The following databases should be used only in an academic capacity and associated with your work here at McGill University. Only current students have access to these tools.

Industry Benchmarking

Business Expenses Survey (Census Bureau)
Expense data for different U.S. markets across four annual surveys.
Doing Business (World Bank)
Provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 190 economies.
EDGAR
United States public company filings through the Securities and Exchange Commission. Use to review public U.S. companies for financial and annual reports.
Financial Performance Tool
Composite financial data, ratios, margin for small business (between 30K and 5 million in total annual revenues). Useful for determining costs in a given industry. Organized by NAICS (North American Industry Classification)

SEDAR
- This link opens in a new window
Public securities documents and information filed with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA). Use this to look up Canadian public companies and review their financial documents and annual reports.

Funding, Venture Capital, and Private Equity

Subscription Database

CB Insights
Venture capital database of startups and private companies. Includes brief company description, financing details, and board members.
VPN for off-campus access. You will also need to create an account using your McGill email address.

Entrepreneurship

Librarian

McGill Library Subscription Databases

Industry Benchmarking

Funding, Venture Capital, and Private Equity

Subscription Database

Publicly Accessible Tools