Guides: E-Resources at McGill Libraries: Troubleshooting

Here are some of the common problem areas and steps you can take to work around them when they happen.

How do I open a private (incognito) browser window?

Sometimes it may be necessary to use a private window on your browser.
Instructions to browse in 'private' or 'incognito' can be found on the following pages for each of the main browsers Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Microsoft Edge.

How to delete browser cookies

When I click on a link, I get the message "Bad request" or "Bad message 431" or "HTTP Error". How can I fix this?

Increasingly platforms are using browser cookies to provide a more seamless experience. Usually our browsers retain these cookies for the next time you visit a site. However, sometimes cookies can expire and then will give an error message similar to the ones here.
Clearing cookies and the browser cache will often resolve the issue. Here are links to instructions for the main browsers that explain how to do this: Chrome, Firefox, Safari (see "Remove stored cookies and data"), Microsoft Edge.
Alternatively in Chrome or FireFox, use CTL + Shift + DEL (Windows) or Command + Shift + Delete (Mac) to open a panel from where you can quickly delete cookies from a specific time period.
You can also browse in 'private' or 'incognito' mode (see above entry).

When I click on a link I get a browser warning telling me my connection is insecure. How can I fix this?

Several of our e-resource providers including Ebook Central, O'Reilly, as well as EZproxy use an SSO login mechanism that relies on McGill authentication cookies to permit access. Sometimes these cookies expire, especially when your connection "times out".
You can follow the links in the preceding question to information on deleting cookies for your browser, but note that you will only need to search and remove cookies associated with 'mcgill.ca' to resolve this problem. You should not need to delete any other cookies or data.
Alternatively, you can browse in 'private' or 'incognito' mode. Here are instructions for how to use this option: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Microsoft Edge.

Authentication

The catalogue says we have access to an online resource but I am being asked to pay to view. What can I do?

Ensure you are either on-campus, or using EZproxy or VPN if off-campus.
Publishers of online content usually need to see that you are affiliated with McGill to provide full text of articles or e-books. Our computer IP addresses are the most frequent means of verifying your eligibility.
It is important to use either the Library's EZproxy server or the McGill VPN to ensure the IP address is associated with McGill. Be sure to use a link from the Discovery (Sofia) catalogue or the Databases A-Z list when accessing a Library-subscribed resource.
For complete information on authentication methods including EZproxy and VPN, please see our Online Resources pages

Metadata Errors

The link to the article I need gives a 'page not found' message. How do I find my article?

The problem may be caused by an error in the article citation metadata. If you have landed on the correct publisher's site, look for a search box and copy in a few of the article keywords, then search anew.
If this doesn't provide the correct article, look for a link on the journal homepage that may say something like "All issues" or "Archive", then drill down to the specific volume and issue that the article should be in. Sometimes, an article is no longer available; in this case, you can submit an interlibrary loan request for the article you require.
Another special case is when your citation is for a poster or presentation from a set of conference proceedings. Many conferences do not provide the full-text for presentations, and will provide the abstract only. Sometimes the individual abstract does not have its own page on the journal website; instead, if you use volume, issue, and page number information, you can find the abstract included along with a complete set of other abstracts as one full-text/PDF document.

The catalogue links to the e-book I need lead to a different book with the same or similar title. How do I find the right e-book?

Due to the volume of online resource availability, link matching sometimes pulls in titles that are a different edition or another title altogether. If there are several links available for your e-book, you can sometimes see which is correct from the "Database/Coverage" information (i.e. a modern book will not have been published in a database containing historical documents).
If no link leads to the book you need, please contact us for assistance.

Contact us