Alternate Name(s)
Atiku : The Northern and Arctic Studies Portal
Publication produced by the Institut nordique du Québec (INQ), a group of Quebec experts in the field of northern and Arctic research. The aim is to "integrate scientific knowledge with that of local communities, including Indigenous knowledge, and partner with the public and private sectors to develop the Canadian Arctic and Northern Quebec for future generations, providing clean energy, healthy ecosystems, viable infrastructures, economic prosperity, vibrant cultures, and adapted education and healthcare systems".
Brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. For study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database contains more than over 100,000 pages of full-text material at completion, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives.
Database containing full-text doctoral dissertations and master's theses from China. Dating from 1984, this collection covers basic science, engineering technology, agriculture, medicine, philosophy, humanities, social sciences and other fields.
Decolonization: Politics and Independence in Former Colonial and Commonwealth Territories brings together material from within former British colonies and Commonwealth nations, alongside some from former French and Portuguese territories, to provide valuable primary source material created for local audiences by local actors during a period of enormous global change. After the Second World War, decolonization movements around the world gathered pace, and from the small port colony of Aden to the vast Indian sub-continent, new borders were set, and new nations built.
The study of environmental history emerged in the 1960s, inspired by the popularity of emerging environmentalist movements, but concerns about human intervention and interaction with the natural environment can be traced much further back. Starting in the late nineteenth century, in direct response to the Industrial Revolution, forces in social and political spheres across the globe struggled to balance the good of the public and the planet against the economic exploitation of resources. In Environmental History, researchers may explore the history of the environment and conservation efforts across the globe from the late 1800s onwards.
Includes articles, advertisements, and covers with searchable text and article-level metadata. Footwear News was launched as the first dedicated news periodical of the footwear industry and the archive preserves 75+ years of essential global industry news, analysis, and coverage of seasonal trends. Coverage: 1945 - current
These engaging and unfiltered interviews originate from the groundbreaking 1980s TV series on Hindi Cinema, Movie Mahal, and subsequent TV programmes produced by Kabir. This material marks the first time that a significant number of Indian film practitioners were filmed for a British broadcaster. Their rich insights are a window into the industry and the wider social and cultural context of Hindi cinema. Other collection highlights include behind-the-scenes photographs from film sets and popular Indian film posters from the British Film Institute (BFI).
History of Disabilities: Disabilities in Society, Seventeenth to Twentieth Century provides historical evidence demonstrating how society has interacted with and regarded individuals considered to have disabilities.
To optimize the accessibility of the History of Disabilities digital archive, Gale employed a "double OCR, compare, and manual correct" method to ensure at least 98% accuracy in the OCR text included in this archive. --Publisher.
The collections in the archive provide distinctive windows into the social history of the nineteenth and twentieth century with topics that resonate with current events in the twenty-first century.
Founded by Robert Smiley in 1846, the Hamilton Spectator has been a cornerstone of Hamilton’s history for over 175 years. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1852 - 2010
The Waterloo Region Record is the daily newspaper of Southern Ontario reporting on stories of importance to the communities of Kitchener, Waterloo, and Cambridge. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1893 - 2010
Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970 documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. For scholars in the fields of American history, American studies, history of science and medicine, public health studies, sociology, political science, psychology, and economics, it documents through primary sources that record the evolution and impact of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at the local, national, and federal levels, opening for researchers a new window on the roles played by key organizations and individuals to advance public health.
Religions of America traces the history and unique character of religious movements that originated in or were re-shaped by the United States during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is the first-ever scholarly online collection for researchers and students of adult comic books and graphic novels. This multi-part resource covers the full spectrum of this visual art form, from pre-comics code era works to modern sequential releases from artists the world over, and contains 200,000 pages of original material alongside interviews, commentary, criticism, and other supporting materials.
The resource brings together diaries and oral histories to enable students and researchers to explore the lives of hundreds of individuals from diverse backgrounds, from abolitionists to suffragists, and royalty to republicans. Vivid narratives cover a wide range of themes, including domestic life, travel, sport, feminism, gender fluidity, and class with the collection providing a platform for working class, LGBTQ+, and disabled women’s voices.
