Skip to Main Content

E-Resources at McGill Libraries

News, updates, known issues, and troubleshooting solutions for access to databases, e-books and journals from McGill Libraries.
Welcome to the McGill Libraries E-Resources Support LibGuide

 

Our new LibGuide contains e-resources news, platform status updates and known issues, solutions to frequently-encountered problems, and information on authentication for all our online resources available from McGill Libraries. Check back in often to read up on current e-resources updates.

Consult our policy on acceptable use.

For general information on licensing, EZproxy and VPN, see Accessing Library online resources.


Latest News

McGill Libraries will move to the new Databases A-Z on Wednesday, July 17,

July 16, 2024

In the morning of July 17, we will be making our switch to the new Databases A-Z. Using a new Bootstrap5 layout, we will be able to offer additional features such as notifications for VPN or outages and a cleaner, mobile-friendly interface. Check in for more updates soon.

 

ProQuest platform maintenance, Saturday, July 13, 10:00 pm

July 11, 2024

Starting at 10:00 pm on this coming Saturday (July 13) until 4:00 am Sunday, July 14, ProQuest will be performing platform maintenance with the result that their main ProQuest platform will be unavailable during this time. Click on the link above for a complete list of affected databases.

 

EBSCO - Upcoming System Maintenance – July 26th, 2024

July 11, 2024

EBSCO will be performing system maintenance on July 26. They say, "Beginning Friday, July 26, 2024, most EBSCO products, including e-books and research databases, will experience a pause in the availability of new or updated content. All products and services, including EBSCOhost, will be accessible and available for use, but it may take up to 10 days to resume full content currency."

 

Accessible Archives moves to History Commons

July 8, 2024

Content from Accessible Archives is moving to History Commons from Coherent Digital. It is already possible to view documents in their new location and links from Accessible Archives will begin redirecting to History Commons at the end of August.

 

Contact us

Contact the Collections E-Resources team to report an issue with access.

New and Featured Resources

1980s Culture and Society (Adam Matthew)

An eclectic and multi-faceted resource compiled from archived zines, newspapers and ephemera, to oral histories, films and photographs, to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.

Logo featuring uppercase letters A & M

The Transformation of Shopping (Adam Matthew)

This resource brings together rich collections of primary source material from world-renowned institutions, enabling research into the vibrant sociocultural history of the retail industry with material from over 300 stores. Drawn from across the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, trade literature, staff newsletters and photographs highlight the experiences of workers and consumers, offering exciting new insights into the ways in which stores shaped and influenced daily and working life.

Logo for Alexander Street Press

Women and Social Movements Modern Empires Since 1820 (Alexander Street)

Contains more than 70,000 pages of curated documents, video and audio recordings. Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes related to conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.

Qwest.tv EDU (Alexander Street)

Qwest TV preserves diverse live performances, covering the evolution of jazz and beyond — representing funk, soul, hip-hop, folk, indie, electronic, blues, and other eclectic world genres. Co-created by Quincy Jones & Reza Ackbaraly, this unique collection of highly curated titles makes timeless concerts and global music accessible for research, teaching, and learning.

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice