Guides: International Law: Secondary sources

Legal encyclopedias

Encyclopaedic dictionary of international law (Oxford). Terminology and descriptive information on international law.
Encyclopedia of environmental law (Elgaronline). Organised into 12 volumes around top-level subjects – such as water, energy and climate change – that reflect some of the most pressing issues facing us today.
Encyclopedia of human rights (Oxford). Focusing primarily on developments since 1945, it offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law and history.
Encyclopedia of international economic law (Elgaronline). This comprehensive resource helps redefine the field by presenting international economic law in its broadest, real-world context.
Encyclopedia of private international law (Elgaronline). 57 different countries are represented by authors who shed light on the current state of Private International Law around the globe, providing unique insights into the discipline and how it is affected by globalization and increased regional integration.
JurisClasseur - Droit international Encyclopédie de droit français, lien au module de droit international (via Lexis Advance Quicklaw)
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (Oxford) . A comprehensive analytical resource that features peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law.
Oxford Bibliographies - International Law. A cross between an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship on a given topic

eBooks

Brill International Law - E-books covering various aspects of international law from 2006 onward
Cambridge Core Multidisciplinary e-books published Cambridge UP from 2013 onward. Law collection with particular strength in international law, human rights and transitional justice, transnational and comparative law, jurisprudence, and legal history.
Centre for Studies and Research in International Law and International Relations Brill e-books; annual series on international law from 2001 onward
Elgar Advanced Introductions Elgar Advanced Introductions are accessible and concise texts, often used as course textbooks, that offer strong foundations for international and comparative legal study in a variety of areas of law, from private law to mental health law, international tax law to global sports law, international human rights law to space law.
Hague Academy of International Law. Collected Course Online Covers theoretical and practical aspects of international law including legislation and case law from 1923 onward
Making of Modern Law. Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926 Includes subjects such as: ancient law, comparative law, foreign law, international law, Islamic law, Jewish law, and roman law
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law E-book collection on public international law by Oxford UP

eJournals

Cambridge Core Multidisciplinary e-journals published Cambridge UP from 2013 onward. Law collection with particular strength in international law, human rights and transitional justice, transnational and comparative law, jurisprudence, and legal history.
Foreign & International Law Resources Database - (via HeinOnline) Publications of the American Society of International Law and prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series.
Kluwer Law Journals Gateway to Kluwer Law International journals
Oxford Journals - Law Oxford UP journals

Periodical indexes

19th Century Masterfile Includes the Index to Legal Periodicals 1908-1935
Aerospace Database Indexing and abstracts applied research in the aerospace and space sciences since the early 1960s
CAIRN Revues et livres en sciences humaines et sociales
Doctrinal Plus Notices bibliographiques d'articles de revues, de la jurisprudence française et européenne et de la législation française et de l'Union européenne
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, 1985 - A subject index covering international and comparative law periodicals as well as collections of essays produced by the Berkeley Law Library.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full-Text, 1982 - Index of scholarly articles, symposia, court decisions, books, book reviews published in legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications and university publications.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981 Periodical Index of legal journals published between 1908-1981
Index to Periodical Articles Related to Law, 1958 - Periodical Index of journals in the area of law not covered in other indexes from 1958 onward
Labordoc Publications produced by the International Labour Organization (ILO) including Conference Proceedings
LegalTrac, 1980 - Index of major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals and international legal journals, including more than 250 titles in full text.
Pascal and Francis Humanities & Social Sciences bibliographic database
Periodicals index online retrospective index of English, French, Italian, German periodicals

Law journals guides

Law Journals: Submissions and Ranking Prepared by the Washington and Lee University School of Law
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory Access to detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types