Dental Medicine and Oral Health Sciences

Key resources

• CINAHL
• ClinicalKey
• Cochrane Library
• DynaMed
• MEDLINE (Ovid)
• Ovid Online
• PubMed
• Scopus
• UptoDate
• Web of Science
• McGill WorldCat Catalogue

Core and Additional Databases

• MEDLINE (1996-) - biomedicine. Includes Index to Dental Literature. Start here!
  MEDLINE, 1946 - - complete MEDLINE database
• CDC's Oral Health Epidemiological Database
• CPS: Compendium of Pharmaceuticals & Specialties / CPSP: Compendium des produits et spécialités pharmaceutiques - Canadian drugs and therapeutics. Current edition
• Database of Online Health Statistics - search by nation, government agency, or research group
• EMBASE, (1996 -) - biomedicine. Broad coverage of the European literature. NOTE: allows a limited number of simultaneous users.
  EMBASE, 1947 -
• ERIC (1966 - ) - education, including dental education. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
• ERIC (1966 -) - free (open access) version of the ERIC database listed above
• GIDEON (Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Online Network) - a decision support application covering infectious diseases, microbiology and toxicology worldwide
• Google Scholar - restricts Google results to authoritative resources. Use Advanced Scholar Search to limit results by date, format, etc. If phrase searching, use quotation marks to increase relevance and decrease retrieval
  Google Images - remember to credit the source of the image
  Google Video - remember to credit the source of the video
• Health & Psychosocial Instruments (1985 -) - health instruments, surveys, questionnaires, etc.
• Lexicomp Online for Dentistry - a strong set of databases with comprehensive drug information, diagnosis and treatment guidelines and reviews of clinical principles.  Also includes patient/consumer health information.
• McGill Library Global Health Guide - this resource guide attempts to promote collaboration in the field of global health
• MedlinePLUS - an excellent resource for patient/consumer health information. Provides drug and disease related links as well as interactive tutorials
• ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Online - international listing of doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Provides full text. Coverage varies
• PsycInfo (1987 -) - psychological, behavioral and emotional impact of disease
  PsycInfo (1806 -)
• PUBMED (1946 -) - free (open access) version of MEDLINE. Includes Index to Dental Literature
• SCOPUS (1823 -) - multidisciplinary. Provides citation indexing, patent searching, H-index indicators etc.
• Web of Science (1900 -) - multidisciplinary. Features citation indexing, H-index indicators and access to Journal Citation Reports for journal impact factors

Search Engines for Evidence Based Practice

• American Dental Association: Center for Evidence-based Dentistry
• TRIP: Turning Research Into Practice - searches high quality medical literature from a wide range of EBM sources. Start here!
• SUMSearch 2 - searches high quality medical information. Provides access to NEJM's Image Challenge and Cases with CME

Multimedia Resources

• iTunes U - provides access to lectures, course materials, academic apps, etc
• NEJM Clinical Videos - 30+ videos in different aspects of clinical medicine
• ResearchChannel at YouTube - provides over 460 videos and broadcast streaming. Click on Subscribe to receive notification when new videos are posted
• YouTube EDU - educational videos. Use the search function to locate videos of interest.
  If you are searching the main YouTube site, conduct your search, click on Search Options at the top left of the results window, and limit results by Categories --> Education or Duration --> Long (20~ minutes)

Point of Care / Evidence Based Resources

• UpToDate - provides concise answers to patient care, diagnosis and treatment questions. Start here!
• ADA. Center for Evidence Based Dentistry - excellent collection of EBD resources by the American Dental Association
• CMA Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPGs) / Infobanque AMC: Guides de pratique clinique (GPC) - created and maintained by the Canadian Medical Association
  Handbook on clinical practice guidelines (CMA) / Manuel sur les guides de pratique clinique
• ACP Pier - alphabetical listing of more than 300 diseases and conditions.
• Cochrane Library - high-quality, independent evidence. Contains the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
• Cochrane Oral Health Group - access to on-going systematic reviews or protocols in oral health
• Centre for Evidence-based Dentistry (UK) - promotes teaching, learning, practice and evaluation of evidence-based dentistry world-wide
• The Dental Elf (UK) - daily blog providing brief summaries highlighting evidence-based publications in dentistry
• Essential Evidence Plus - evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system
• Evidence-Based Dentistry (v. 1 -, 1998 - ) - the leading EBD journal provides 1 page summaries of clinically important dental research. Articles older than 5 years are free to all
• Evidence-Based Dentistry: A-Z Systematic Reviews - ADA derived list of systematic reviews from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
• EvidenceAlerts - a collaboration between the BMJ Group and McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit
• Journal of Evidence-Based Dental Practice (v. 1 -, 2001 -) - reviews of high quality dental research
• National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC) - international clinical practice guidelines. Can compare 2 or more guidelines
• PubMed Clinical Queries - user-friendly approach to evidence-based searching in PubMed
• Systematic Reviews in Dentistry Published in PubMed - embedded search strategy
• Users' Guides to the Medical Literature (JAMA) - excellent introduction to evidence based practice by EBM experts.