Dental Medicine and Oral Health Sciences

"MeSH is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary used for indexing articles for MEDLINE/PubMed. MeSH terminology provides a consistent way to retrieve information that may use different terminology for the same concepts." (National Library of Medicine).

• Health Sciences Research Basics - McGill Library
• Searching the literature - JGH Health Sciences Library
• What is MeSH? - US National Library of Medicine
• The MeSH vacabulary - video (11 mins) - US National Library of Medicine
• The difference between Medline and Pubmed - Fact sheet - US National Library of Medicine

OvidSP is a search platform that allows you to access and search multiple databases, including Medline, EMBASE, and PsycINFO.

• Advanced search - video (22min) - Ovid
• Saving searches - Ovid
• Searching Ovid - Ovid (all databases)
  • Medline database guide (includes, list of fields, how to use Boolean, truncation, adjacency etc.)
    • Tips for effective Medline searching - McGill Library
    • Medline tutorial (video - 30 mins) - Ovid
    • Medline tutorial - McMaster University Library
    • Intro to Medline (video - 3.5 mins) - University of Maryland Library
  • Embase database guide (includes, list of fields, how to use Boolean, truncation, adjacency etc.)
    • Intro to Embase (video - 23 mins) - Ovid
    • Advanced techniques in Embase (video - 13 mins) - Ovid
  • PsycINFO database guide (includes, list of fields, how to use Boolean, truncation, adjacency etc.)
    • Sample PsyINFO search (video - 4 mins) - Ovid
    • Using index terms & keywords effectively in PsyINFO (video - 4mins) - Ovid
    • How (and why) to use the APA thesaurus when searching PsyINFO (video - 3 mins) - Ovid
  • Global Health database guide (includes, list of fields, how to use Boolean, truncation, adjacency etc.)
  • Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database tutorials - Ovid