Skip to main content

Global Health

COVID-19 CLOSURE

Further to Quebec government and university directives, McGill campuses are currently closed. As a result, all library branches are closed until further notice. Library staff will continue to provide virtual reference during service hoursFor more information about the closure, please visit our COVID -19 | Library Closure & Service Disruptions FAQ.

Novel Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)

Novel Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)

Our Medical Library colleagues at the University of British Columbia have produced an excellent and comprehensive resource guide on all aspects of the current coronavirus pandemic for the public, patients, and health professionals.

If you need to speak to a health professional for advice, call 1-877-644-4545. For more information about McGill's response to the pandemic consult https://www.mcgill.ca/coronavirus.

Core Databases

Additional Databases

Additional Databases

  • Health Systems Evidence - "Evidence to support policymakers, stakeholders and researchers interested in how to strengthen or reform health systems or in how to get cost-effective programs, services and drugs to those who need them"; email registration required
  • Health Indicators tabulates key health and administrative data at both the federal and provincial levels.

Online Journals

Online Journals at McGill

  • McGill E-Journals A-Z
    Use quotations for exact titles. If journal does not show up at top of list of results, limit by format to "Journal/Magazine".

Open/Free Access Online Journals

  • Bioline International Not-for-profit electronic publishing service committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries.
  • Bioline Active Journals by Country - Can be sorted by title, country or subject.
  • Biomed Central (BMC) - Open access to biomedical journals ranging from ecology to molecular biology, public health to genomics.
    BMC journals by subject
  • BIREME - Portal of Journals on Health Sciences, mix of open access and subscription Journals (primarily in Portuguese or Spanish)
  • DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals (multisciplinary)
  • Freemedicaljournals.com - Promotes free access to medical journals, listed alphabetically, by specialty, or language.
  • Open Science Directory - Free searchable database of the growing collection of articles free in developing countries. This site is provided by EBSCO Information Services.
  • PLoS: Public Library of Science *currently publishes 7 peer-reviewed, open access scientific and medical journals. Journal articles can be redistributed and reused according to the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License.
  • PubMed Central (PMC) - A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). The ever growing archive may be searched or browsed by title.
    Europe PMC - Based on PMC, provides a stable, permanent, and free-to-access online digital archive of full-text, peer-reviewed publications. Option to filter to free full text after a search has been executed.
  • SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online - Provides an international, primarily open access, collection in Spanish and Portuguese.

Finding Legislation and Case Law

Finding Legislation and Case Law

Global Health

Foreign Laws

Finding Secondary Legal Materials

Finding Secondary Legal Materials

Periodical Indexes

Gateways

Human Rights

Intellectual Property

Patents

Key Journals

General Statistical and Data Resources

General Statistical and Data Resources

For more information:

See Data & Statistics (McGill Library)

Statistics in Journal Articles

Statistics in Journal Articles Indexed in MEDLINE

When statistics sources don't contain what you want, journal articles may be the only source. Articles containing statistics can be found in MEDLINE by using subheadings applied to subjects you are interested in.

1. Subheadings - two particularly useful:

/statistics & numerical data (/sn)
 
In PubMed: "MeSH term/statistics and numerical data"[MeSH]; or, "statistics and numerical data"[subheading] for free-floating subheading searches. In PubMed, "statistics and numerical data" as a subheading explodes by default in PubMed to include the narrower subheadings "epidemiology"[subheading] - which includes "ethnology"[subheading] OR "mortaility"[subheading] - OR "supply and distribution"[subheading] (however, the subheading will not explode if [mesh:noexp] is used).
 
In Ovid MEDLINE: MeSH term/sn (statistics and numerical data); or, sn.fs. for free-floating subheading searches - Used with non-disease headings for the expression of numerical values which describe particular sets or groups of data. It excludes supply or demand for which "supply and distribution" is used.
Year introduced: 1989
/mortality (/mo)
In PubMed: "MeSH term/mortality"[MeSH]; or "mortality"[subheading] for free-floating subheading searches. For deaths resulting from various procedures statistically but for a death resulting in a specific case, use "FATAL OUTCOME"[MeSH], not "MeSH term/mortality"[MeSH].
 
In Ovid MEDLINE: MeSH term/mo (mortality); or mo.fs. for free-floating subheading searches - Used with human and veterinary diseases for mortality statistics. For deaths resulting from various procedures statistically but for a death resulting in a specific case, use FATAL OUTCOME/, not /mo.
Year introduced: 1967

2. Other useful subheadings to consider:

In PubMed: In Ovid MEDLINE:
/economics /ec
/epidemiology /ep
/ethnology /eh
/supply & distribution /sd

 

Sources to Support Universal Literature Access

Access for All

Information for Writers, Editors, and Publishers

Information for Writers, Editors, and Publishers

Librarians

Multidisciplinary team

April Colosimo, Science

Eamon Duffy, Government Information

Genevieve Gore, Health

Michael David Miller, Economics and International Development

 

Need help? Ask us!

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice