Guides: Finance: Home

Statement on the Educational Use of Databases

The use of McGill Library's professional business databases is limited to academic purposes. These databases are not to be used on behalf of external organizations or for commercial reasons.

Students completing internships may not access resources and reports on behalf of their employers.

Please refer to the McGill Library policy on electronic resources or to the licensing and conditions of use for further information.

Financial Data

Bloomberg
Live and historical market data, news, analytics and reports.
Morningstar
Financial and statistical data including fund information - International.

Mergent Bondviewer
- This link opens in a new window
Find bond ratings and corporate actions, dividends, UIts, and fixed income.
Mergent Eventsdata
- This link opens in a new window
This resource provides updated information on stock-splits, mergers, tender offers, partial/full calls and name changes. It also gives clients the ability to research corporate actions, dividends, fixed income and unit investment trust data from a historical perspective.
Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive financials, competitors, annual reports and more.

SDC Platinum
New issues, M&A, syndicated loans, private equity, project finance, poison pills, and more.
Thomson Eikon with Datastream
Financial and statistical data - International.

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
- This link opens in a new window
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a research platform that you can use to access a variety of databases related to accounting, banking, economics, finance, ESG, and statistics.

Use is restricted to current McGill University faculty and doctorate students. Graduate students may request access on a term-by-term basis. Undergraduate students must have the support of a Desautel Faculty of Management professor.

Analyst Reports

Investext
Contains investment research reports on companies and industries, prepared by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms worldwide.
J.P. Morgan Research
- This link opens in a new window
Derived from Morgan Markets, these analyst reports cover over 3,000 companies and many industries, globally. Coverage is 2011 to current with a one week embargo.

Articles

Accounting, Tax, and Banking Collection (ProQuest)
Articles and current news from academic and professional journals as well as other key news sources.

See also: Articles & News resource guide

Finance Lab

Please note that some of the finance databases are fixed access and can only be used in the library's Finance Lab.

Use of the lab is limited to current McGill University students, staff, and faculty.

McLennan-Redpath Library room M3-53B

Bloomberg Professional Service (3)
Thomson Eikon with Datastream (1)
Morningstar (1)

Finance

Liaison Librarian for Management and Business