Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finance

Statement on the Educational Use of Databases

The use of McGill Library's professional business databases is limited to academic purposes. These databases are not to be used on behalf of external organizations or for commercial reasons.

Students completing internships may not access resources and reports on behalf of their employers.

Please refer to the McGill Library policy on electronic resources or to the licensing and conditions of use for further information.

Bloomberg Help Desk


24/7 access to live online support from a Bloomberg representative. 

Use the HELP<GO> function and select Live Help to access this email communication feature. Alternatively, you can press the Help key twice. 

Bloomberg Resource Center


BPS<GO> provides links to training documents and videos for support when using the Bloomberg terminal.

Help Library


The Help Library is a searchable interface within the Bloomberg terminals that allows for access to definitions, FAQ's, related functions, user guides/cheat sheets, and more.

Access the Help Library by entering the HL<GO> function into the command line. From here, you can use the search field to find news articles, archived securities, and other related materials. Standard boolean operators work within the Bloomberg search field and results can be further filtered by categories and sub-categories. The Help Library also provides another means to access the Excel Template Library (XLTP<GO>).

Screenshot of the Help Library (HL) search interface.
 

Best Answer Algorithm


Bloomberg offers its Best Answer algorithm as a way to speed up searching. A user may type their query into the command line (instead of using HL<GO>) and select the Help button on the keyboard. This will prompt the most popular or relevant results to be loaded into the function display.

APA Citations for Bloomberg

Bloomberg created content
 

Bloomberg L.P. (2017). Company analysis for Bank of Canada. Retrieved from Bloomberg database.

Bloomberg L.P. (2017). Environmental, social, and governance analysis for Bank of Canada 11/10/12 to 11/10/17. Retrieved from Bloomberg database on November 12th, 2017.


Company Filings
 

Corporate Author's Name. (Year, Month Day). Name of filing: Subtitle if given. Retrieved from Bloomberg database.


Newspaper Articles
 

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article: Subtitle if given. Name of Newspaper. Retrieved from Bloomberg database.


Graphs and Charts
 

Reproduction
 

Figure X. Description of the chart or title if given. Adapted from "Bloomberg database," by Bloomberg L.P., Publication Year, Month Day if given. Retrieved from Bloomberg database. Copyright date by Name of Copyright Holder.
 

Compiled
 

Figure X. Type of data being applied on chart and by what values/date range. Data for Security A, Security B, and Security C from Bloomberg (Year).

Bloomberg Research Help

  1. Enter HELP<GO> in the command line.
  2. From the Help Resources choose 16) HELP Getting Started with Bloomberg

    OR
     
  3. Choose specific items from the Menu on the left side of the screen
    • 11) Getting Started
    • 12) Navigating
    • 13) Functions & Securities
    • 14) Screen Elements
    • 15) Browsing Menus
    • 16) Searching
    • 17) Launchpad
    • 18) Excel Integration
    • 19) Tips & Tricks
    • 20) Getting Help

 

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice