Foreign and Comparative Law

Primary sources

• Civil Code of Louisiana
• Congress U.S. Congress legislation, Congressional Record debates, Members of Congress, legislative process educational resources presented by the Library of Congress.
• Fastcase Access to US federal and state court opinions
• Guide to searching U.S. Case Law. This guide from the Library of Congress, cites resources for locating and identifying judicial decisions from the U.S. courts using primary and secondary sources of case law.
• Govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government
• Law Library of Congress Research Center access to an unrivaled collection of U.S., foreign, comparative, and international law.
• LII: Legal Information Institute US legislation, US Code, Supreme Court cases, Wex Legal Encyclopedia (Cornell Law School)
• Justia US case law, codes, regulations, and legal information
• Lexis Advance Quicklaw - (use VPN for off-campus access). Lexis Advance Quicklaw is a legal database that offers comprehensive coverage of Canadian, international, and foreign materials (US, UK, France, Australia and New Zealand). If you see an error message, simply click through.
• Making of Modern Law. Primary Sources Online access to state and municipal codes, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other resources in US legal history
• Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926 Published official trial transcripts, unofficially published accounts of trials, briefs, arguments
• U.S. Code Consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States (via HeinOnline)
• U.S. Statutes at Large Complete coverage of the Statutes at Large from 1789 - (via HeinOnline)
• U.S. Supreme Court Library Official U.S. Reports, preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books and periodicals (via HeinOnline)
• WestlawNext Canada - Westlaw Next Canada is a legal database that provides extensive coverage of US and Canadian, and some international and foreign materials (UK, Australia). Westlaw Canada offers access to Canadian, US, and UK case law, the Canadian Abridgment Case Digests, the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (C.E.D.), Index to Canadian Legal Literature, select Legal Pleadings, and more.

Secondary sources

• American Law Reports Provides comprehensive analysis of issues of federal and state law (via WestlawNext Canada)
• Constitution Annotated Analysis and interpretation of the U.S. Constitution, written in plain English
• Corpus Juris Secundum US legal encyclopedia (via WestlawNext Canada) go to the “international” tab > Westlaw US > secondary sources > Jurisprudence and Encyclopedias > Corpus Juris Secundum
• Harvard H20 Casebooks Find casebooks from Universities around the world (mostly US Law Faculties)
• The Oxford Companion to American Law
• The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States
• The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions

• McGill users only
• Open access resource
• Free resource
• In-library-use only
• Catalogue record