Skip to Main Content

Foreign and Comparative Law

Databases, websites and other resources relevant for researching foreign and comparative law.

Historical

  • Avalon Project Historical treaties and documents, 4000 bce -
  • Gallica Digital Collection by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France
  • HathiTrust Digital archive of e-books from major research libraries
  • HeinOnline Legal Classics Collection of historical legal treatises and rare items
  • LLMC Digital Full-text historical legal and government publications from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and other countries.
  • Making of Modern Law. Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926 Pre-1926 treatises and similar monographs in the following areas: International Law, Comparative Law, Foreign Law, Roman Law, Islamic Law, Jewish Law, and Ancient Law. The Foreign Law component covers dozens of countries; the principal ones included are: Argentina, Australia, Canada, France, Germany, India, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, South Africa, Spain, and Switzerland. Its International Law component features works of some of the great legal theorists, including Gentili, Grotius, Selden, Zouche, Pufendorf, Bijnkershoek, Wolff, Vattel, Martens, Mackintosh, and Wheaton, among others.
  • Making of Modern Law. Foreign Primary Sources Historical legal codes, statutes, regulations, and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and other countries in northern Europe. Included are crucial sources of historical statutes and regulations for the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.
  • Making of Modern Law. Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 Legal Treatises covering American law and British law.
  • Making of Modern Law. Primary Sources Online access to state and municipal codes, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other resources in US legal history.
  • Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926 Published official trial transcripts, unofficially published accounts of trials, briefs, arguments.
  • Oxford Historical Treaties Collection of treaties of all nations concluded from 1648 through 1919.
  • Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History. Historical and contemporary comparisons of the world legal systems.
  • Periodicals index online retrospective index of English, French, Italian, German periodicals
  • Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
  • World Constitutions Illustrated (via HeinOnline) Current constitution for every country in its original language and an English translation, constitutional histories for all countries, periodicals, and classic books.
  • World Treaty Library (via HeinOnline) Monumental collection of treaties: Rohn, Dumont, Bevans, Martens, League of Nations, US, and UN. 

Librarian

Profile Photo
Sonia Smith
Contact:
McGill University
Nahum Gelber Law Library
3660 Peel
Montreal, QC H3A 1W9
Canada
514-398-4715 ext. 09177
Subjects: Jewish studies, Law

Librarian

Profile Photo
Katarina Daniels
Contact:
Nahum Gelber Law Library
3660 Peel Street
Montreal, Quebec H3A 1W9
514-398-4715 x00168
Subjects: Law

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library-use only
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice