Skip to main content

Foreign and Comparative Law

Databases, websites and other resources relevant for researching foreign and comparative law.

COVID-19 CLOSURE

Further to Quebec government and university directives, McGill campuses are currently closed. As a result, all library branches are closed until further notice. Library staff will continue to provide virtual reference during service hoursFor more information about the closure, please visit our COVID -19 | Library Closure & Service Disruptions FAQ.

Key databases

  • Lexis Advance Quicklaw - (use VPN for off-campus access). Lexis Advance Quicklaw is a legal database that offers comprehensive coverage of Canadian, international, and foreign materials (US, UK, Australia). Quicklaw gives access to Canadian, US, UK, and European case law, Canadian administrative tribunal decisions, QuickCITE case citator, Canada Digest, legal encyclopedias (Halsbury's Laws of Canada, Jurisclasseur Quebec, Halsbury's Laws of England), legislation, Index to Canadian Legal Literature, full–text of main Canadian legal journals, and more.
  • HeinOnline - Australian, UK and US legislation; Israeli, UK and US case law; world constitutions, and more.
  • Vlex Global - Cases, statutes, and other legal materials in 13 languages for 134 countries (especially strong for Spanish-speaking countries). 
  • WestlawNext Canada - Westlaw Next Canada is a legal database that provides extensive coverage of US and Canadian, and some international and foreign materials (UK, Australia). Westlaw Canada offers access to Canadian, US, and UK case law, the Canadian Abridgment Case Digests, the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (C.E.D.), Index to Canadian Legal Literature, select Legal Pleadings, and more.
  • WorldLII: World Legal Information Institute Legislation and caselaw from around the world

Librarian

Sonia Smith's picture
Sonia Smith
Contact:
McGill University
Nahum Gelber Law Library
3660 Peel
Montreal, QC H3A 1W9
Canada
514-398-4715 ext. 09177

Librarian

Katarina Daniels's picture
Katarina Daniels
Contact:
Nahum Gelber Law Library
3660 Peel Street
Montreal, Quebec H3A 1W9
514-398-4715 x00168
Subjects:Law

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library-use only
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice