Translation Studies

The Routledge Handbook of Translation Studies provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art account of the complex field of translation studies. Written by leading specialists from around the world, this volume brings together authoritative original articles on pressing issues including: the current status of the field and its interdisciplinary nature the problematic definition of the object of study the various theoretical frameworks the research methodologies available. The handbook also includes discussion of the most recent theoretical, descriptive and applied research, as well as glimpses of future directions within the field and an extensive up-to-date bibliography. The Routledge Handbook of Translation Studies is an indispensable resource for postgraduate students of translation studies.

This book covers the history of the theory and practice of translation from Cicero to the digital age. It examines all major processes of translation, offers critical accounts of current research, and compares theoretical perspectives on the problems of translation ranging from sacred texts and drama to science and diplomatic interpretation.

Fusing translation theory with advice and information about the practicalities of translating, Becoming a Translatoris an essential resource for novice and practising translators. The book helps students learn how to translate faster and more accurately, how to deal with potential problems, including dealing with stress and how the market works. This second edition has been revised throughout, and includes an exploration of new technologies used by translators and a 'Useful Contacts' section including the names, addresses and web addresses of translator organizations, training programmes, journals and translator agencies. Exercises, email exchanges and examples have also been updated throughout. Becoming a Translatoris an invaluable guide for all aspiring and practising translators.

On se trompe souvent : comme le disent les auteurs, «Il est urgent d’en finir avec les stéréotypes du traducteur mécanicien qui substitue des vis millimétrées aux vis en pouces.» Le traducteur est plutôt un professionnel caractérisé à la fois par sa curiosité (les traducteurs changent souvent de domaines de travail, au gré des contrats), par son insertion dans des réseaux nombreux (le traducteur circule dans des cultures diverses) et par sa maîtrise de la langue (des langues, en fait : celle du texte de départ et, surtout, de la langue d’arrivée). Les auteurs s’intéressent d’abord et avant tout à la dimension concrète du travail du traducteur. Où est-il formé ? De quelles associations doit-il faire partie ? Comment est-il payé ? Quels sont ses outils, et notamment ses outils numériques ? Il y a donc une forte dimension pratique à l’ouvrage.

Jean Boase-Beier's Critical Introduction To Translation Studies demonstrates a keen understanding of theoretical and practical translation. It looks to instances where translation might not be straightforward, where stylistics play an important role. Examples are discussed from works of literature, advertisements, journalism and others, where effects on the reader are central to the text, and are reflected in the style. It begins by setting out some of the basic problems and issues that arise in the study of translation, such as: the difference between literary and non-literary translation; the role of language, content and style; the question of universals and specifics in language and¿the notion of context. The book then goes on to focus more closely on style and how it enables us to characterise literary texts and literary translation. The final part looks at the translation of poetry. Throughout, it is conscious of the relationship between theory and practice in translation. This book offers a new approach to translation, grounded in stylistics, and it will be an invaluable resource for undergraduates and postgraduates approaching translation studies.

The Translation Studies Reader is the definitive reader for the study of this dynamic interdisciplinary field. Providing an introduction to translation studies, this book places a wide range of readings within their social, thematic, and historical contexts. The selections included are from the twentieth century, with a particular focus on the last thirty years of the century. Features include: *Organization into five chronological sections, divided by decade *An introductory essay prefacing each section *A detailed bibliography and suggestions for further reading. Readings: Kwame Anthony Appiah, Walter Benjamin, Antoine Berman, Shoshana Blum-Kulka, Jorge Luis Borges, Annie Brisset, J.C. Catford, Lori Chamberlain, Jean Darbelnet and Jean-Paul Vinay, Itamar Even-Zohar, William Frawley, Ernst-August Gutt, Keith Harvey, Basil Hatim and Ian Mason, James S. Holmes, Roman Jakobson, Andre Lefevere, Jiri Levy, Philip E. Lewis, Vladimir Nabakov, Eugen Nida, Jose Ortega y Gasset, Ezra Pound, Willard V.O. Quine, Katharina Reiss, Gayatri Spivak, George Steiner, Gideon Toury, Hans J. Vermeer A new piece by Lawrence Venuti suggests the future of translation studies.