5 - Find Country Information and Reports - Public Policy

World Factbook
Provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit
Contains link to The Economist newspaper
Library of Congress Country Studies
Collection containing 80 electronic versions of books published by the Federal Research Division. Sponsored by the U.S. Army, the studies provide analyses of countries or regions where the United States Army might be deployed.
Statesman's Yearbook Online (Springer)
Annual publication covering the politics, cultures and economies of all of the countries of the world plus major international organizations.
Europa World
EIU - Country Reports Archive (ProQuest)
Online archive of the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)’s quarterly country reports, from their beginning in 1952 up to 1995. - Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Passport (Euromonitor)
Industry/category reports, trends and demographic information for consumer-related products and services. (International)
License information can be found here: License Terms of Use

* More country reports are listed here.

Country Indicators for Foreign Policy (CIFP)
Includes global political and demographic indicators related to political stability.
Correlates of War
Provides access to quantitative data in international relations and the history of wars and conflict among states.
Economic Freedom Reports
Reports and data from the Fraser Institute.
Fragile States Index
Ranking of countries based on indicators of risk.
Freedom in the World reports
Freedom House’s comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties.
Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre (IDMC)
Includes regularly updated country profiles.
International Country Risk Guide (ICRG)
Monitors 161 countries, rating a wide range of risks to international businesses & financial institutions.
International Monteary Fund (IMF)
IMF's eLibrary provides access to periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools.
Political Risk Services: Country Data
Provides political and economic data on over 140 countries and forecasts political risk ratings.
Polity IV Project
Data series with measures of democratic governance.
Population Index, 1986 - 2000
World population literature.
Transparency International
Reports, statistics, and analysis of global corruption.
World Development Indicators (WDI) Online (World Bank)
Development indicators, with time series for 208 countries from 1970-2005.

AND: Combines two concepts, both will be represented in the results.

OR: Joins two concepts or synonyms

NOT: Removes the results that include the word that follows it

* truncation or wildcard: Place at the end of the root of a word and all the words with a different ending will be represented in the results

Use instead of plurals / can also replace a letter
Increases the number of results
Ex: Wom*n = will show results with woman and women. Canad* will show Canada, Canadian, canadien, canadienne, etc…

Liaison Librarian for Economics and Public Policy

il / he

Email me

Contact:

Subjects: Economics, Feminist studies, French language and literature, International development, LGBTQ studies, Public policy, Québec studies, Translation studies