Musicians' health and wellness

Medical Problems of Performing Artists is the primary medical journal devoted to practice and research related to health issues of performing artists. A publication of the Performing Arts Medicine Association, the Dutch Performing Arts Medicine Association, and the Australian Society for Performing Arts Healthcare, the journal features peer-reviewed research papers covering a wide array of disorders and conditions. The publication is indexed in a number of databases, and all issues are available in full-text on the publisher's site.

Journal articles related to musicians' health and wellness can also be found in other scholarly journals and in professional journals. 

To find articles on this topic from a range of sources, search the following databases and indexes:

Music literature databases

• Music Index Online
  • Guide to music periodicals and literature
  • Coverage includes articles about music, musicians, instruments, and the music industry (popular and classical)
  • Good for finding reviews of books, recordings, and performances; news articles; and obituaries
  • Some digital content (1970 to present)
• Music Periodicals Database (formerly IIMP - International Index to Music Periodicals)
  • Guide to scholarly and popular music journals for a wide range of subjects
  • Emphasis on articles from 1996 to the present; indexing for certain journals from 1874
  • Includes full-text content for many journals
• RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text 
  • Comprehensive scholarly bibliography of writings on music, international in scope, from 1900 to the present
  • Covers a wide range of publications: journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, and essay collections
  • Includes full-text content from many leading journals, magazines, and newsletters

Science, medical, and interdisciplinary databases

• MEDLINE (Ovid)
• PsycINFO 1987- (Ovid)
• PubMed (McGill)
• Scopus
• Web of Science
• Google Scholar
  • Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature
  • Search across many disciplines and sources, including journal articles, academic theses, books, and abstracts
  • Configure Google Scholar to access articles available through the Library

• McGill users only
• Open access resource
• Free resource
• In-library use
• Catalogue record