Jazz

Browse the 3rd floor shelves around M1366 or search the Library catalogue for jazz scores or big band scores to see titles in the collection.

The Gertrude Whitley Performance Library, located on the 5th floor of the library, houses close to 1000 jazz scores. Please consult the GWPL Collection to search scores available for consultation.  

Other scores can be found online, with select publishers allowing access to peruse either partial or complete scores. Below is a list of some publishers' sites where you can view scores, some with accompanying audio.

This guide does not endorse any of the following publishers or vendors. The resources listed here are included because they provide pertinent information about selected works and composers.

• Kendor

  • Access study scores of large ensemble works
  • While viewing an item, click on "full score" to view the secured and downloadable PDF. Please note these are provided free of charge
  • Includes audio excerpts, instrumentation, style and a short description of the chart

• Les Éditions Whitewater

  • Specializies in Canadian jazz compositions for large ensembles
  • Includes audio and score/parts samples

• ejazzlines​​​​​​

  • Select audio and/or score samples of large jazz ensemble works are available for consultation​​​​​​, see individual charts for available samples

Classical music scores

• Features online resources for classical music scores. For additional information and search tips, we invite you to watch the Marvin Duchow Music Library's video on Accessing Online Perusal Scores.

View the complete list of Fake Books in the Music Library collection.

Looking for a specific tune? Check out the following resources to see where it's been published:

• Fake Books 
  • Fake Book Index 
  • Where's That Tune: An Index to Songs in Fakebooks  (ML128 S3 G66 1990)

Online Resources:

• New Standards 
  • Downloadable ebook of tunes written by women composers curated by Terri Lyne Carrington, courtesy of the Berklee Institute of Jazz and Gender Justice
• The Public Domain Song Anthology
  • Collection of 348 popular songs in the public domain with modern and traditional harmonization

This series of scores reproduces the recorded performances of several jazz greats in print. View the complete list of titles in the Music Library collection.

• Artist Transcriptions series

With over 6000 pieces of popular sheet music, the Sheet Music Collection is a treasure trove of standards and Broadway tunes. Ask a Library staff member if you wish to consult the printed music.

• Sheet Music Collection

• McGill users only
• Open access resource
• Free resource
• In-library use
• Catalogue record