Finding recordings:
The Music Library has thousands of jazz recordings on CD, DVD, LP, 78 rpm discs, and audio and video streaming. To see all catalogued material, search the Sofia Discovery Tool. Many other resources are available to the McGill community! You will find examples of these below, with tips on how to find various types of recordings and formats.
Uncatalogued LPs
Several thousand uncatalogued LPs, arranged by label name, are available on the 4 shelf ranges closest to the 4th-floor desk. Feel free to browse or ask a member of the full-time Music Library staff for assistance.
Online resources:
-
- Growing archive of the Schulich School of Music performances from 2008 – present
- Includes audio and/or video components for selected performances (Note: Streaming access requires authentication and is restricted to current McGill users)
- See also the Schulich School of Music YouTube channel for selected video recording performances.
-
- Streaming audio library (jazz music)
- More than 200,000 tracks
- Includes notes on the works and biographical information on composers and artists
Note: This database has a limited number of simultaneous users. If you have trouble accessing or receive an error message, please try again later. Naxos Music Library Jazz App: Available for Apple or Android mobile devices. You must create a personal account prior to using the app.
Creating Naxos Music Library Jazz playlists: Video tutorial. Instructors can use the McGill Playlist creation guide for creating course-specific Naxos playlists. Please contact the Music Library staff for login credentials. Further information can be found on the Naxos website.
-
- Dedicated to jazz, soul, funk, and world music
- Catalogue features over 500 concerts, documentaries, and rare archival footage
- Most videos are subtitled in English or French
-
- Stream sound recordings from independent labels and sound archives (e.g. New World Records, Composers Recordings (CRI), Albany Records)
- Primarily American music
- Encompasses avant-garde, contemporary, electronic, folk, opera, indigenous, jazz, musical theatre, and more
- Access original liner notes and essays
-
- Database containing information and images for more than 15,000 78-rpm and cylinder recordings released in Canada, as well as foreign recordings featuring Canadian artists and/or compositions
- Selected recordings in the Library and Archives Canada collection of 78s, chosen for their Canadian content, were digitally reproduced for this site
