Guides: Islamic languages: Urdu

Dictionaries

A dictionary of Urdu, classical Hindi, and English
John T. Platts’ Urdu Dictionary published by W. H. Allen & Co. in 1884 is made available online by the Digital South Asia Library (DSAL) at the University of Chicago.
A dictionary, Hindustani and English
John Shakespear’s Hindustani Dictionary published in 1834 is made available online by the Digital South Asia Library (DSAL) at the University of Chicago.
A new Hindustani-English dictionary
W. S. Fallon's New Hindustani-English Dictionary published by Trubner and Co. in 1879 is made available online by the Digital South Asia Library (DSAL) at the University of Chicago.
Urdu-English Dictionary
A free Online Urdu English Dictionary that contains over 450,000 words. Users can search either English or Urdu terms.

Encyclopedias

International Encyclopaedia of Indian Literature by Ganga R. Garg
ISBN: 9788170990611
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Urdu insa'iklopidya by 'Abdul Waheed 1909-
Call Number: AE90 U7 U7 1962
Publication Date: 1962

Journals

Journals:

Newspapers:

Dawn (Pakistan)

McGill Newspapers collection provides a complete list of electronically accessible Newspapers held by McGill University.

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon

She / Her / Elle

Email me

Contact:

3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1

514-449-1952

Subjects: African studies, Islamic and Middle East studies

Websites

Allama Iqbal Poetry (کلام علامہ محمد اقبال) allows to read Allama Iqbal poetical works in Urdu, Roman Urdu and English Translations.

Frances W. Pritchett's website includes many resources relevant to Hindi/Urdu learners.

Rekhta (website or phone app) aims at promoting and disseminating Urdu literature, in particular poetry. Texts are available in Devanagari, Roman and Urdu scripts.