Skip to Main Content

Islamic languages

Welcome - Merhaba - أهلا وسهلا - Hoşgeldiniz - خوش آمدید ! This guide focuses on useful sources for the study of the Arabic, Persian, Turkish and Urdu Languages taught at the McGill Institute of Islamic Studies.

Dictionaries

Arabic-English dictionary of Qur'anic usage is a comprehensive and contextualized Arabic-English dictionary of Quranic usage based on classical Arabic dictionaries and Quran commentaries.

Lughatuna (Living Arabic Project) is a website showing Arabic as a living language allowing users to search simultaneously in classical and dialectal (Egyptian, Levantine & North African) dictionaries.

The Doha Historical Dictionary of Arabic is a historical lexicon of the Arabic language as it has developed over the last two millennia.

Mawrid Reader: Arabic Dictionary Interface is an HTML/JavaScript app for both desktop and mobile use for displaying and searching root-based or alphabetical dictionaries.

Mawsūʻat Muṣṭalaḥāt ʻilm al-tārīkh al-ʻArabī wa-al-Islāmī. Bayrūt : Maktabat Lubnān Nāshirūn, 2000. Print.

Mawsūʻat Muṣṭalaḥāt Uṣūl Al-Fiqh ʻinda Al-Muslimīn. Bayrūt : Maktabat Lubnān, Nāshirūn, 1998. Print.

Mawsūʻat Muṣṭalaḥāt al-ʻulūm ʻinda al-ʻArab. Bayrūt, Lubnān : Maktabat Lubnān Nāshirūn, 1999. Print.

Al-mawsūʻah al-muyassarah fī al-ʻulūm al-ijtimāʻīyah: ʻArabī - Injilīzī - Faransī. Bayrūt : Maktabat Lubnān Nāshirūn, 2012.

Al-Munjid al-abjad. Bayrūt : Dār al-Mashriq, 1967. Print.

Al-Munjid fī al-lughah al-ʻArabīyah al-muʻāṣirah. Bayrūt, Lubnān : Dār al-Mashriq, 2000. Print.

Al-Munjid fī al-lughah wa-al-aʻlām. Bayrūt : Dār al-Mashriq, ©1988. Print.

Online Dictionary of Arabic Philosophical Terms

Oxford Arabic Dictionary: Arabic-English - English-Arabic. First edition. Oxford University Press, 2014. Print.

A selection of Arabic Dictionaries Applications

Arabic Almanac makes Lane’s Lexicon Arabic dictionary accessible on the App store for iOS devices.

Almaany.com (معجم المعاني عربي عربي) is an Arabic to Arabic Dictionary only available on the App Store for iOS devices.

Digital collections

ArabicPod101 is an Arabic teaching application offering audio and video lessons, dynamic learning tools, and interactive forums.

al-Bab is a blog aiming to be an open door to the Arab World. Numerous posts focus on Arabic Language learning and refer to interesting online resources.

International Children’s Digital Library gives free online access web site for more than 4649 illustrated books for online viewing in 61 language.

Kotobarabia Arabic E-Library gives online access to more than 3,500 contemporary and classic Arabic books from Egypt. Works in the collection are divided into 29 thematic categories and several subcategories, and are both full-image and full-text searchable.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics is an interdisciplinary research tool covering all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is full-text searchable and has a browsable index.

Journals

Sourcebooks

Abu-Chacra, Faruk. Arabic: An Essential Grammar. London: Routledge, 2007. Electronic resource.

Bassiouney, Reem, and E G. Katz. Arabic Languages and Linguistics. Washington DC: Georgetown University Press, 2012. Electronic resource.

Brosh, Hezi, and Luṭfī Manṣūr. Arabic Stories for Language Learners: Traditional Middle Eastern Tales in Arabic and English. , 2013. Electronic resource.

Elbousty, Youness M, and Muhammad A. Aziz. Advanced Arabic Literary Reader: For Students of Modern Standard Arabic. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2016. Print.

Fassi, Fehri A. Key Features and Parameters in Arabic Grammar. Amsterdam: J. Benjamins Pub. Co, 2012. Electronic resource.

Gaafar, Mahmoud, and Jane Wightwick. Easy Arabic Reader: A Three-Part Text for Beginning Students. Chicago: McGraw-Hill Companies, 2011. Electronic resource.

Haak, Martine. The Verb in Literary and Colloquial Arabic. Berlin: Mouton de Gruyter, 1997. Print.

Ibrāhīm, Zaynab, and Sanaa A. M. Makhlouf. Linguistics in an Age of Globalization: Perspectives on Arabic Language and Teaching. Cairo: American University in Cairo Press, 2008. Print.

Johnstone, Barbara. Repetition in Arabic Discourse: Paradigms, Syntagms, and the Ecology of Language. Amsterdam: J. Benjamins Pub, 1991. Electronic resource.

Owens, Jonathan. The Foundations of Grammar: An Introduction to Medieval Arabic Grammatical Theory. Amsterdam: J. Benjamins Pub. Co, 1988. Print.

Owens, Jonathan. The Oxford Handbook of Arabic Linguistics. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2013.  Print.

Ryding, Karin C. A Reference Grammar of Modern Standard Arabic. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2005.  Print.

Suleiman, Yasir. Arabic Grammar and Linguistics. Surrey: Curzon, 1999. Print.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Anaïs Salamon
She / Her / Hers
Contact:
3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1
514-398-4688
Website Skype Contact: anais.salamon@mcgill.ca

Learning tools

Al Jazeera Learning Arabic is a free open educational site, aims to teach and spread the Arabic language as a bridge for human communication and cultural understanding.

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice