Guides: Islamic languages: Turkish

Dictionaries

Cambridge Learner's Dictionary English-Turkish with CD-ROM
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: PL191 C36 2009
ISBN: 9780521736435
Publication Date: 2009-09-24
A new edition of the Cambridge Learner's Dictionary for Turkish speaking learners of English. In this semi-bilingual dictionary, word partner boxes show how words are used together, helping develop natural sounding English. The thesaurus boxes provide alternatives to over-used words, helping widen your vocabulary. Also, Common Mistakes boxes taken from the Cambridge Learner Corpus help avoid typical errors made by Turkish learners of English.

Lexilogos Ottoman Turkish Dictionary
Allows to search a selection of Ottoman Turkish dictionaries in both Latin and Arabic characters.
LexiQamus
- This link opens in a new window
A tool aiming to help researchers deciphering illegible words in Ottoman manuscripts. Based on the legible letters and the symbols for illegible letters entered into the boxes, its algorithm provides a list of possible words matching the given restrictions. The software searches a database of approximately 173,000 words and phrases from 19 dictionaries published between 1860 and 1928.
Tureng
The Tureng Dictionary is an online dictionary service provided for those working in the fields of translation, education and international trade (...) Designed as a resource to access each word and all of its meanings easily and quickly, The Tureng Dictionary has been organized into a total of 120 categories such as technical, medical, social sciences, automotive, construction, computer science, biochemistry, electrical-electronics, international trade, banking and finance.
Turkish Dictionary for Language Learners
This Turkish dictionary includes many different dictionaries and glossaries in order to provide better coverage: English-Turkish and Turkish-English general purpose dictionaries (İngilizce-Türkçe sözlük and Türkçe-İngilizce sözlük), English-Turkish glossary of technical terms (İngilizce-Türkçe teknik terimler sözlüğü), English-Turkish glossary of medical terms (İngilizce-Türkçe tıbbi terimler sözlüğü), English-Turkish glossary of electronics (İngilizce-Türkçe elektronik terimleri sözlüğü), English-Turkish glossary of informatics (İngilizce-Türkçe bilişim terimleri sözlüğü), English-Turkish glossary of computers (İngilizce-Türkçe bilgisayar terimleri sözlüğü).
Zargan
A dictionary designed for Turkish speakers.

Encyclopedias

Index Islamicus
- This link opens in a new window
"Index Islamicus Online is THE international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Rightly described as 'an indispensable tool for libraries, graduates and undergraduates alike'. The Index Islamicus Online provides the reader with an effective overview of what has been published on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense."

Türkiye Makaleler Bibliyografyası a database of articles covering the Republican period of Turkey from 1923 to the present. Currently, over 650,000 articles from more than 4000 journals and magazines are searchable. The data entry infrastructure was redesigned and now author names and publication authorities have been added to the new system. With the new user interface, you can search by author, article, subject, and journal name.

Journals

Journals:

Newspapers:

Hurriyet News

McGill Newspapers collection provides a complete list of electronically accessible Newspapers held by McGill University.

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon

She / Her / Elle

Email me

Contact:

3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1

514-449-1952

Subjects: African studies, Islamic and Middle East studies

Additional websites

The American Association of Teachers of Turkic Languages makes Turkish learning and teaching resources available.