History of Medicine

The primary resource to identify useful libraries and archives in the history of the health sciences is the annual Directory published by the History of Medicine Division of the US National Library of Medicine. - Directory of History of Medicine Collections. This is available both in print and online.

• American College of Surgeons/Archives and History 
• The Bakken Museum The Bakken Museum Library has an extensive collection of material on the history of electricity and magnetism. There is also a collection of medical and therapeutic artifacts and ephemera.
• Bibliotheca Walleriana Uppsala University Library Special Collection
• Boearhaave Museum National Museum of the History of Science and Medicine, Netherlands.
• Clendening History of Medicine Library and Museum This is the rare books and manuscripts library of the University of Kansas Medical Center; their website offers access to several digital collections.
• College of Physicians of Philadelphia A non-profit institution, promoting the heritage and future of health and medicine.
• Dr. Jenner's House Museum and Garden The country doctor who changed the world by developing vaccination against smallpox in 1796.
• Harvard Countway Library Countway houses the Center for the History of Medicine, the Brigham and Women's Hospital Archives, the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health Archives, and the Warren Anatomical Museum.
• Harvey Cushing/John Hay Whitney Medical Library Harvey Cushing, Sir William Osler's first biographer, presented his extensive library to Yale University in 1933. The historical medical library contains unique collections of rare material as well as current works on the history of medicine.
• Freud Museum London The museum holds Freud's personal library of over 1600 books as well as his archive of documents and that of Anna Freud and other notable figures.
• The Gillies Archives at Queen Mary's Hospital, Sidcup The Queen's Hospital, Sidcup performed plastic surgery of the face between 1917 and 1925, and today's Queen Mary's Hospital possesses a unique collection of over 2500 case files relating to that era.
• Guide to Canadian Nursing Archival Resources This is a pdf file listing the holdings of many, but not all, repositories in Canada. The document was created by Diana Mansell in 2002.
• Johns Hopkins Medicine The oldest department of the history of medicine in North America. Includes the Alan Mason Chesney Medical Archives as well as the History of Medicine Library
• The Leprosy of Tracadie, Musée Historique de Tracadie Inc. Tracadie-Sheila, New Brunswick When leprosy appeared in the northeastern region of New Brunswick at the beginning of the 19th century, the province of New Brunswick built a hospital on Sheldrake Island to prevent the spread of the disease. Between 1844 and 1949, everyone affected by leprosy was sent to this lazaretto. In 1849, the lazaretto was moved to Tracadie.
• London's Museums of Health and Medicine A go-to-guide of museums, archives, colleges and institutions regarding history of medicine across London, England.
• Lloyd Library and Museum The Library has a world-class collection covering medical botany, pharmacy, eclectic medicine, and horticulture. The site includes an online index to eclectic medical journals.
• The Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Library at Georgetown University is part of the National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH). It collects historical documents and reports related to maternal and child health in the United States and health services to improve the health and well being of children and families.
• McGill University Archives The archives has material relating to individuals and institutions in the health field, such as the Montreal General Hospital and the Lyman pharmaceutical company, as well as the records of the Faculty of Medicine.
• Medical Records at the Archives of Ontario Maintained by the Archives of Ontario, offers historical medical and health records.
• Medicine in the Americas 1610-1920: A Digital Library From the U.S. National Library of Medicine, this digital library makes freely available original works demonstrating the evolution of American medicine from colonial frontier outposts of the 17th century to research hospitals of the 20th century.
• MemoryBC - Gateway to British Columbia's Past A portal where you can access descriptions of archival materials preserved in repositories throughout the province. Contains some of the archives of the BC Medical and other health associations.
• Moulagenmuseum A museum at the Univeristy of Zurich devoted to wax figures historically used in medical teaching.
• Museo Galileo in Florence, Italy, owns one of the world’s major collection of scientific instruments, particularly the original instruments of Galileo Galilei. The Museo is dedicated to the research, documentation and dissemination of the history of science. 
• Museum of Health Care at Kingston (Ontario) The primary goal of the Museum is to preserve material culture and enhance understanding of the history of health and health care in Canada.
• National Library of Medicine Bathtub Collection The National Library of Medicine's Bathtub Collection is an archive of materials found in the old bindings when rare books in the Library were conserved. The materials found in the bindings include fragments of old printed books or manuscript materials which are often treasures on their own. In the Bathtub Collection, NLM has organized and described these fragments and made them available to scholars.
• National Museum of Health and Medicine Established during the Civil War as the Army Medical Museum, a center for the collection of specimens and artifacts for research related to trauma and pathology. The museum's mission is to preserve and explore the impact of military medicine through world-class collections, digital technology, and public engagement. 
• Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh Part of the College is The James Lind Library The Library uses historical material to illustrate the principles underlying fair tests of treatments and their development and application over time, and how these relate to the interests of today’s patients. Also provides Catalogues of Digitised Material and Medical Biographies 
• Royal College of Physicians of London (Wiley Digital Archives). Part of a larger Wiley library, McGill users have access to the full run of materials digitized from the Royal College of Physicians of London, covering 700 years of medical history.
• Royal College of Surgeons of England Museums Information on the Hunterian and other museums.
• UK Cochrane Centre Archive (Cardiff University) International non-profit organization, an essential resource for the study of the history of evidence-based health care.
• U.S. National Library of Medicine. The History of Medicine Division offers access to a vast array of historical health sciences information.
• Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine The Wellcome Library in London, England, has an extensive and expanding collection in all aspects of history of the health sciences. The library mounts frequent online exhibits and the Library's online catalogue is a key resource for scholars.
• The Wood Library - Museum of Anesthesiology The mission of the WLM is to advance anesthesiology by preserving and sharing its heritage and knowledge through its collection of books, multimedia materials, rare books, current literature and artifacts. They have a selected list of e-books on anesthesiology.