Guides: FACC 500 Technology Business Plan Design: Team Project

Market Research Canvas

Market Research Canvas
Adapted from the Business Model Canvas, this guide will help you on your market research journey. Consider each section using the databases provided on this site.

Business Model Canvas created by Alexander Osterwalder in 2008.

Market Research Canvas adapted by Amanda Wheatley in 2019.

Idea Generation

When deciding what type of product to introduce or how it might fit into an existing market, you can use some of the resources below to review trends and get inspired.

Design. Think. Make. Break. Repeat by Martin Tomitsch and Cara Wrigley
ISBN: 9789063694791
Publication Date: 2018-01-30
Design. Think. Make. Break. Repeat. provides a comprehensive collection of 60 methods applicable to any design innovation project. This handbook provides a flexible, interactive learning resource for anyone interested in learning about design thinking methods and their use for product and service innovation.

Consumer Research

Using the resources below, find detailed consumer behaviour characteristics about your potential customers, and information about your market segmentation and target market to your marketing plans.

Industry & Market

Use the databases below to help build a profile for your industry and market. The data in these reports will help you determine the size of your market, its growth rates and future potential, trends and forecasts, barriers to entry, and threats to the market.

Tips!
- Use reports from multiple databases to get a complete picture of an industry.
- If you can't find a report for the Canadian market, look for a US report and determine if the information there could be applied to the Canadian context.

Gartner
- This link opens in a new window
Platform for technology research publications and consultation services. McGill subscription contains access to research reports on knowledge and insight on IT trends, best practices, digital strategy, and governance and policy development.
MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Reports contain market segmentation, market outlook, and five forces analysis. International.
VPN required for off-campus use.
IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
Industry reports and business environment profiles. (Canada, U.S.)
Mintel Academic
- This link opens in a new window
Industry/category reports, trends and demographic information for consumer-related products and services. (Canada, U.S.)
Passport
- This link opens in a new window
Industry/category reports, trends and demographic information for consumer-related products and services. (International)
License information can be found here: License Terms of Use

Company Analysis

Use the industry and market resources below to find information on competitors, such as:

Names of brands/companies that are direct and indirect competitors;
Market shares of competitors;
Details about the industry

Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Company reports including annual reports, company history, executive profiles, financials, supply chain data, etc. (International)
MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of public companies, includes product and market segmentation, company financials, SWOT analysis, and more.
VPN required for off-campus use.

CB Insights
Venture capital database of startups and private companies. Includes brief company description, financing details, and board members.
VPN for off-campus access. You will also need to create an account using your McGill email address.

Marketing Mix

Use the questions below to help you determines the typical aspects of a marketing mix.

Products & Pricing

What does your product look like? How is it packaged? What makes it different from other similar products?
What is its Product Life Cycle?
What is the pricing strategy and margins for your product?
For inspiration, see trendwatching.com and the Branding Research Library
For details about existing brands and products, and popular brands in a given industry, see the Company Research guide and the Industry guide.

Distribution & Promotion:

How will consumers learn about your product?
How and where will the product be distributed?
How will it be displayed?
For advertising rates and inforamtion, see the Advertising guide.