Properties and spectra

There are resources on this page for finding properties and spectra, but I also recommend looking for substance information in the CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform.

Handbooks (sources of chemical data)

• Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards
• CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
• Dictionary of substances and their effects
• Merck index
• Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials

Physical properties and spectra Internet sites

• PubChem - information on the biological activities of small molecules
• CAS Common Chemistry - authoritative information on substances commonly found in consumer products and regulatory lists
• Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ASTDR) Tox Profiles
• ChemBioFinder.com - structures, properties and links to other websites (free registration required)
• Landonlt-Börnstein Online - physical data
• Human Metabolome Database - information on small molecule metabolites
• NIST Chemistry Webbook - spectra, as well as thermochemistry and phase transition data
• Physical Reference Data
• SDBS - spectral database for organic compounds
• Sigma-Aldrich - search their product catalogues

Search engines

• eMolecules - chemistry search engine that enables structure searching

Enzyme Internet sites

• BRENDA - enzyme database
• ExPASy ENZYME - enzyme nomenclature database

Periodic table Internet sites

• ChemiCool
• CHEMnetBASE
• WebElements Periodic Table

Miscellaneous Internet sites

• ACD/ChemSketch - free software for chemical drawing (registration required)
• ChemWeb.com - chemistry portal (registration required)
• Crystallography Open Database
• IUPAC compendium of chemical terminology
• Jmol - free, open source molecule viewer
• Organic Syntheses - procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds