Skip to main content

SciFinder: Get Connected

Database for finding papers, patents, substances, and reactions, in chemistry and related sciences. This guide has registration and login information.

Registration and login

Connect

SciFinder

SciFinder is available to McGill faculty, staff, and students.

Register

In order to have access you will need to register with tour McGill email address, creating a username and password, through SciFinder registration. You must be connected to the McGill network when you register.

Log in

Once your personal account has been created and activated you will be able to log in to use the SciFinder web version.

SciFinder Mobile

With your personal account you will also be able to login to the mobile version of SciFinder and run searches on your smart phone without IP address restrictions.

Description

SciFinder is an electronic version of Chemical Abstracts providing access to journal and patent references. It is produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS).

SciFinder includes millions of substance records and CAS Registry Numbers. Users can search the chemical literature (journals and patents) a variety of ways: author name, research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure or chemical reaction. The CAS databases are a comprehensive collection of published chemical literature.

Medline is also searchable through SciFinder. The broad scope of SciFinder's coverage makes it a valuable research tool for biology, medical sciences, engineering, physics, geology and food sciences as well as for chemistry.

McGill is allowed unlimited simultaneous users.

SciFinder is available 24 hours a day, 7 days per week, with the exception of regularly scheduled down time from Saturday at 10pm until Sunday at 1am, and from 5pm Saturday to 1am Sunday the first Saturday of every month.

Coverage and frequency

  • 1907 -
  • updated daily

Guides and search tips

Librarian

The Turret (Schulich Library blog)

Loading

Ask a librarian

Ask us!

Librarians are here to answer your questions and help you find what you are looking for.

Chat •  Email • Text • Phone

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice