ATOC 100 Extreme-Weather and Climate-Change Physics

Multidisciplinary database - Web of Science

• References to journal articles and conference papers, as well as contains information about how many times an article has been cited and who cited it.

Multidisciplinary database - Scopus

• References to journal articles and conference papers, as well as information about how many times an article has been cited and who cited it.

Meteorology - Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts

• Covers meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental science.

Oceanography - Oceanic Abstracts

• Covers marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology.

Multidisciplinary database - Google Scholar

• Includes non-academic and non-peer-reviewed sources so you need to examine each search result to determine if it is an appropriate academic source for your research paper.
• Handout: Get the most out of Google Scholar
• McGill Library links in Google Scholar

Note: All that you need is one good paper to help you find more - try these tips for expanding your search!

Access

Find out about accessing the Library's online resources from on and off campus.

Obtaining materials that are not available at McGill

McGill students and staff may order articles and books that are not available at McGill using the library's Interlibrary Loan service.

Consult these resources for tips on how to write a research paper or technical report.

For more writing resources, click here.

Also, try the McGill Writing Centre.

Citation styles

Best bets

• APA citation style:
  • APA style (Purdue University)
• AMS citation style:
  • References (AMS)
• Council of Science Editors (CSE) citation style:
  • CSE Name-Year Citation Style Guide (McGill University Library)
  • CSE Documentation (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

Other popular options

• Chicago citation style:
  • The Chicago manual of style is available online through McGill Library. The Chicago-Style citation quick guide is the easiest place to start. Click on the "Author-Date" tab for the style used by those in engineering and the physical, natural and social sciences. 
• Science citation style:
  • Instructions for preparing an initial manuscript. Scroll to subsection entitled "Science Citation Style".

Citation management software

EndNote

• McGill students and staff can download EndNote citation management software for free. With this software you can get references directly from many databases, such as Web of Science.
• A Guide to Using EndNote (PDF handout)
• EndNote can automate the formatting of your references in many different citation styles. If you are using APA, Chicago or Science, the output styles are already installed in EndNote. For AMS and CSE, you will need to download the output styles from the following links: AMS output style and CSE output style. For Windows: Open and save the .ens file in C:\Program files\EndNote\Styles. For Macs: Open and save the .ens file in Applications:EndNote:Styles.
• EndNote Web is also available at McGill University. To access EndNote Web you need to create a personal account. You can sign up for an account with your McGill email address at www.myendnoteweb.com.
• There are library workshops given on how to use this software effectively.

JabRef

• If you are using LaTeX to create your document, you may want to make use of JabRef open source software to manage your references.

Latest posts: