Skip to Main Content

ATOC 100 Extreme-Weather and Climate-Change Physics

Library workshop

Welcome to the ATOC 100 Course Guide! This guide is made to help you find information for your assignments in this course and supplement information from the in-person library workshop. If you would like any help with finding information, please feel free to make an appointment. Good places to start are by:

  • filling out the Research toolkit to generate search terms on your topic
  • checking out databases to search for finding journal articles and conference papers on your topic
  • learning more about access and full text via McGill Library
  • learning more about writing and citing. Explore different citation styles used in Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, learn how citation management software can help you organize your references and cite your sources and find links to download EndNote software.

To see if there are books on reserve (short-term loan) for this course, please click here and type in your course number.

Databases to search

Multidisciplinary database - Web of Science

  • References to journal articles and conference papers, as well as contains information about how many times an article has been cited and who cited it.

Multidisciplinary database - Scopus

  • References to journal articles and conference papers, as well as information about how many times an article has been cited and who cited it.

Meteorology - Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts

  • Covers meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental science.

Oceanography - Oceanic Abstracts

  • Covers marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology.

Multidisciplinary database - Google Scholar


Note: All that you need is one good paper to help you find more - try these tips for expanding your search!

Access and full text

Access

Find out about accessing the Library's online resources from on and off campus.

 

Obtaining materials that are not available at McGill

McGill students and staff may order articles and books that are not available at McGill using the library's Interlibrary Loan service.

Writing and citing

Consult these resources for tips on how to write a research paper or technical report.

Title Format
Communicate science papers, presentations, and posters effectively Online
The Elements of style Online
Making sense : a student’s guide to research and writing : engineering and the technical sciences Print
Pocket book of technical writing for engineers and scientists Print
Style and ethics of communication in science and engineering Online
Writing and publishing science research papers in English : a global perspective Online
Writing for science Online
Writing for science and engineering: papers, presentations and reports Online
Writing lab reports Online
Writing research papers: a complete guide Print
Writing technical articles (Columbia University) Online

 

For more writing resources, click here.

Also, try the McGill Writing Centre.

Citation styles

Best bets

Other popular options

Citation management software

EndNote

  • McGill students and staff can download EndNote citation management software for free. With this software you can get references directly from many databases, such as Web of Science.
  • A Guide to Using EndNote (PDF handout)
  • EndNote can automate the formatting of your references in many different citation styles. If you are using APA, Chicago or Science, the output styles are already installed in EndNote. For AMS and CSE, you will need to download the output styles from the following links: AMS output style and CSE output style. For Windows: Open and save the .ens file in C:\Program files\EndNote\Styles. For Macs: Open and save the .ens file in Applications:EndNote:Styles.
  • EndNote Web is also available at McGill University. To access EndNote Web you need to create a personal account. You can sign up for an account with your McGill email address at www.myendnoteweb.com.
  • There are library workshops given on how to use this software effectively.

JabRef

  • If you are using LaTeX to create your document, you may want to make use of JabRef open source software to manage your references.

Contact

Profile Photo
Schulich Librarians
Contact:
Schulich Library of Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, and Engineering
514-398-4769
Website

Librarian - On leave

Profile Photo
Tara Mawhinney
Contact:
Schulich Library of Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, and Engineering (Office located in the McLennan Library Building during the Schulich closure)
514-398-4764
Website

Ask the librarian on duty

Course guides

Other related guides

The Turret

Latest posts:

Loading ...

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice