MyResearch (Health & biological sciences)

• EndNote citation management software
• Keeping it Honest, McGill's website on academic integrity, with a quiz where you can test your knowledge
• Routes of Writing (McGill University)
• Citing Medicine - Guide to using Vancouver Style (National Library of Medicine, US)
• APA6 Style (Purdue OWL)  

Books

• Search the Library's WorldCat catalogue
• Guide to e-books at McGill

Articles

• Search bibliographic databases such as those listed below to find articles on a given topic, and search the Library's WorldCat catalogue (by article title, and if unsuccessful, by journal title) to access full text.
• Subject guides are a great place to find subject-specific databases but here are good places to start:

Dissertations and theses

Conference papers

• Conferences: General information compiled by the McGill Library
• Conference papers may be published in conference proceedings
• Records for conference papers or conference abstracts may be included in certain databases
• Conference papers, presentations, or abstracts may only be accessible from conference websites, may not be publicly available, or may, in some cases, not be available at all

Searching Google

• Beware of online filter bubbles
• Alternative search engines:
  • https://startpage.com
  • https://duckduckgo.com

Material not available at McGill

• BCI cards allow you to borrow directly from other libraries
• You may order material using COLOMBO (interlibrary loan), or suggest a purchase. We may be able to buy a copy for the Library

Data

The Library has data-related subject guides:

• Bioinformatics subject guide
• Statistics & Data subject guide

Reading & Critiquing Research Articles

• How to Read a Paper (2014) - by Trisha Greenhalgh

Funding opportunities

• Canadian Institutes of Health Research
• National Institutes for Health (US)
• McGill Graduate Research Enhancement and Travel Awards

Finding upcoming conferences

• COS Papers Invited: Health & Medicine
• Library's guide to conferences
• AllConferences.com

Finding past conference papers

• COS Conference Papers Index

Choosing a journal

• Web of Science: analyze search results
• Journal Citation Reports (Impact Factor)
• Scopus Analytics

• Eigenfactor

Knowing your rights as an author

• SHERPA/RoMEO for publisher copyright policies
• SHERPA/JULIET for research funders' open access policies 
• SPARC Canadian author addendum
• Creative Commons Canada

Keeping track of your work

• Find your h-index and citation counts in Web of Science or Scopus
• Publish or Perish to analyze Google Scholar citations
• My Citations (Google Scholar)
• ORCID (create your own personal digital identifier)
• Impact measurements library subject guide

Open access repositories

• OpenDOAR (directory of open access repositories)
• eScholarship@McGill (McGill's institutional open access repository)
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
• Learn more about open access

If you have attended a MyResearch session, please fill out the feedback form.

Andrea Quaiattini
andrea.quaiattini@mcgill.ca
514-398-8087

• McGill users only
• Open access resource
• Free resource