Module 2 - Graduate research toolkit - MyResearch (Health & biological sciences)

Finding materials

Search bibliographic databases such as those listed below to find articles on a given topic, and search the Library's WorldCat catalogue (by article title, and if unsuccessful, by journal title) to access full text.
Subject guides are a great place to find subject-specific databases but here are good places to start:

BIOSIS Citation Index (Web of Science)
- This link opens in a new window
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Access content from journals, meetings, patents, and books. Backfiles available to 1926.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
Database covering nursing and allied health
Embase Classic + Embase (Ovid)
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical database on the Ovid platform which includes literature from European and Asian journals
Embase Classic 1947-1973.
Google Scholar
MEDLINE(R) (OVID) ALL, 1946-
- This link opens in a new window
The Ovid platform offers more advanced search features than PubMed; can be used as an alternative to PubMed
PubMed (McGill)
Free interface for searching MEDLINE
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary, citation database
Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes)
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary citation database

eScholarship@McGill
McGill's institutional repository which includes full text of McGill dissertations and theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
- This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses from around the world, many available in full text from 1997-

Theses & Dissertations
More information on theses and dissertations, compiled by the McGill Library

Conferences: General information compiled by the McGill Library
Conference papers may be published in conference proceedings
Records for conference papers or conference abstracts may be included in certain databases
Conference papers, presentations, or abstracts may only be accessible from conference websites, may not be publicly available, or may, in some cases, not be available at all

BCI cards allow you to borrow directly from other libraries
You may order material using COLOMBO (interlibrary loan), or suggest a purchase. We may be able to buy a copy for the Library

The Library has data-related subject guides:

Andrea Quaiattini
andrea.quaiattini@mcgill.ca
514-398-8087