Skip to main content

Canadian Law

Databases and websites relevant for the research in Canadian law.

Jurisprudence

  • CanLII - Case law, legislation, and a growing collection of secondary sources (Canadian Legal Information Institute)
  • Lexis Advance Quicklaw - (use VPN for off-campus access). Lexis Advance Quicklaw is a legal database that offers comprehensive coverage of Canadian, international, and foreign materials (US, UK, Australia). Quicklaw gives access to Canadian, US, UK, and European case law, Canadian administrative tribunal decisions, QuickCITE case citator, Canada Digest, legal encyclopedias (Halsbury's Laws of Canada, Jurisclasseur Quebec, Halsbury's Laws of England), legislation, Index to Canadian Legal Literature, full–text of main Canadian legal journals, and more.
  • Supreme Court of Canada Decisions - SCC judgments since its creation in 1875 and judgments in leave applications since 2006. Click "SCC Case Information" to see the docket and obtain links to memorandums of argument on application for leave to appeal and factums on appeal.
  • WestlawNext Canada - WestlawNext Canada is a legal database that provides extensive coverage of US and Canadian, and some international and foreign materials (UK, Australia). Westlaw Canada offers access to Canadian, US, and UK case law, the Canadian Abridgment Case Digests, the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (C.E.D.), Index to Canadian Legal Literature, select Legal Pleadings, and more.

Librarian

Katarina Daniels's picture
Katarina Daniels
Contact:
Nahum Gelber Law Library
3660 Peel Street
Montreal, Quebec H3A 1W9
514-398-4715 x00168
Subjects:Law

Librarian

Sonia Smith's picture
Sonia Smith
Contact:
McGill University
Nahum Gelber Law Library
3660 Peel
Montreal, QC H3A 1W9
Canada
514-398-4715 ext. 09177

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library-use only
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice