Guides: Canadian Law: Historical

Historical

British North American Legislative Database 1758-1867 It includes characteristics of all the legislation passed by the pre-Confederation assemblies of eastern British North America: Nova Scotia (1758-1867); Cape Breton (1785-1820); Prince Edward Island (1768-1867); New Brunswick (1786-1867); Lower Canada (1792-1838); Upper Canada (1792-1840), the United Canadas (1841-1867); and Newfoundland (1832-1867).
Canada Gazette 1841-
Canadian Acts of the Parliament Annual and Revised Statutes (via HeinOnline) Collection of the Public General Acts in the form in which they were originally enacted by Parliament in a given calendar year and official consolidations of 1985, 1970, 1952, 1927, 1906, and 1886.
Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources "...includes all debates, journals and committee documentation of the Senate and the House of Commons from the 1st Session of the 1st Parliament (1867) until coverage at www.parl.ca begins. Historical sessional papers are also available from 1867 to 1901."
Canadian Provincial Statutes (via HeinOnline) Public and private acts passed by Canadian provincial governments.
Government Publications Collection - Canadiana "...includes over 1.7 million pages of historical pre-1920 colonial, provincial and federal government documents.This collection includes government acts, bills, committee reports, court rules, debates, journals, ordinances, a selection of official publications from France and Great Britain, sessional papers, regulations, royal commission reports, voter’s lists and treaties."
HathiTrust Digital archive of e-books from major research libraries
Historical Debates of the Parliament of Canada 1867-1994/1996
Lipad Searchable Hansard transcript from 1901 to 2018
LLMC Digital Includes some historical collections digitized by academic libraries
Monographs Collection - Canadiana Includes primary materials on Canadian law, dating back three and a half centuries.
PrimaryDocuments.ca A searchable database of historical documents relating to the drafting and adoption of the Constitution of Canada.
Serials: Periodicals, Annuals and Newspaper Collection - Canadiana Includes early law journal publications, including The Eastern Law Reporter, The Canada Law Journal, etc.