Guides: Geography: Additional databases for crossdisciplinary research

Additional databases on social sciences

Africa-Wide Information (EBSCO)
Produced by NISC South Africa, this resource combines bibliographic databases from around the world to form a multidisciplinary aggregation of extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. Contains 3.2 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century.
Africa Development Indicators
World Bank collection of development indicators on Africa, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. No further updates of this database are currently planned. See entry for World Development Indicators for more recent data on Africa. Coverage here is 1960 - 2012.
Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)
Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Covers both international and interdisciplinary titles, with coverage beginning in 1991.
UN iLibrary (United Nations)
Comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created and published by the United Nations.
Urban Studies Abstracts (EBSCO)
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 51,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

OECD iLibrary
Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. OECD publications cover economic, environmental, and social issues including trade, education, labour, social policy, health, finance, development, energy, sustainability, and science and innovation.

Additional databases on agriculture, biology, ecology, and environment

AGRICOLA (Ovid)
Produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL). Contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the NAL and cooperating institutions in agricultural and related sciences. Coverage includes: agricultural administration, laws and regulations, economics, education, training and extension, engineering and products; animal science; aquatic sciences; chemistry; energy as related to agriculture; entomology; feed science; food science and food products; forestry; general agriculture; geography, meteorology, climatology and history; home economics and human ecology; human nutrition; institutional food service; life sciences; natural resources management and environmental pollution; pesticides; plant diseases; plant science and production; rural sociology; soil science; veterinary medicine. Coverage: 1970 - present
BIOSIS Previews (Ovid) (1969-2017)
Combines journal content from Biological Abstracts with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). Disciplines included are traditional biology (botany, ecology, zoology), interdisciplinary subjects (biochemistry, biomedicine, and biotechnology), and related areas such as instrumentation and methods. (Coverage 1969-2017)
CAB Abstracts
10 simultaneous users.
This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database compiled by CAB INTERNATIONAL. It covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health and nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. Over three million records have been added to the database since its computerization in 1973. These records are made available through a wide range of products and services both printed and electronic
GreenFILE (EBSCO)

Canadian Environmental Assessment Archives
A master list of environmental assessments carried out by federal departments and agencies under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act.

Additional databases on health sciences

Cochrane Library
Global Health (Current + Archive, 1910-) (Ovid)
"Covers aspects related to human health including communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology, human nutrition, community and public health, and medicinal and poisonous plants. Includes foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material. 1910 to present."
10 simultaneous users.
MEDLINE (OVID) ALL, 1946-
Ovid MEDLINE® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
PubMed (McGill)
Openly accessible version of Medline.

Additional databases on engineering and geology

Compendex (Engineering Village)
Compendex provides references to published literature (such as journal articles and conference papers) on all aspects of engineering.
Geoindex
Resource containing geospatial data and aerial photographs.
IEEE Electronic Library Online (IEEE Xplore)
See also Wiley e-books and other publishers on IEEE. To access the text-mining option see IEEE Xplore API Portal
Inspec (Engineering Village)
Research intelligence tool based on the Inspec database from IET allowing users to uncover trends and patterns in research from the fields of physics, engineering and computing. Content includes journals, conference proceedings, preprints, reports, books, patents, dissertations, standards, patents, videos, trade journals and consumer magazines.
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (ProQuest)
This database provides editorially-curated A&I resources drawn from the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Coverage: 1950 - current
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Librarian

Schulich Librarians

Email me

Contact:

Schulich Library of Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, and Engineering

514-398-4769