Art History

Accessible online. Identifies and summarizes thousands of books, article, exhibition catalogues, government publications, and theses published in many countries and in several languages from the early nineteenth century to 1981.

A survey of developments in painting and sculpture in Canada from WWII to 1980s. Illustrated in colour, includes bibliography.

A biographical dictionary in 8 volumes.

A chronology of Canadian art and architecture. Integrates dates of events relevant to painting, printmaking, sculpture, architecture, folk art, antive art and photography as well as landmark political and social events. Handy for quick reference.

The definitive volume on Canadian art. A comprehensive overview of painting in Canada from New France 1665-1760 to the Painters Eleven, 1965. Written from the point of view that "of all the arts in Canada, painting is the one that most directly presents the Canadian experience." Illustrated with colour plates.

A survey of the development of painting in Canada written by a former curator of Canadian Art at the National Gallery of Canada and of the McCord Museum. Covers 1665 to mid 1950s. Includes brief biographies of artists. Illustrated in colour.

An anthology of essays reflecting trends in Canadian critical art writing of the 1980s Intended as a "reference for the informed reader while providing a sourcebook on contemporary art in Canada for the general reader." Includes an extensive bibliography.

Acts as a comprehensive guide to Canadian art, providing a broad sample of aspects of Canadian visual culture. Includes essays on visual cuture, chronology of important events, case studies of individual works, and extensive bibliography. E-book available.