Skip to Main Content
Anthology of Arabic Literature, Culture, and Thought from Pre-Islamic Times to the Present by Bassam K. Frangieh
Publication Date: 2004-09-10
This book is the first comprehensive reader of Arabic literature from pre-Islamic times to the present. It includes pre-Islamic poetry and prose; selections from the Qur'an; the Prophet Muhammad's last sermon; the powerful writing of Ali Ibn Abi Talib, the fourth Islamic Caliph; writings from the "Golden Age of the Arabs" (750-1258 A.D.) in philosophy, mysticism, prose, and poetry; works from the neoclassical, modernist, and metaphorical schools; literature of the Arabs in Andalus, Spain; discussions of cultural, literary, critical, and political movements of the present day; vocabulary lists, a list of idioms and notes, a set of questions about the text, and two glossaries.
Arab Women Writers by Radwa Ashour (Editor); Hasna Reda-Mekdashi (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
This unique study--first published in Arabic in 2004--looks at the work of those pioneers and then traces the development of Arab women's literature through the end of the twentieth century, and also includes a meticulously researched, comprehensive bibliography of writing by Arab women. With its broad scope and extensive research, this book is an indispensable resource for anyone interested in Arabic literature, women's studies, or comparative literature.
Classical Arabic Literature by Geert Jan van Gelder
Publication Date: 2012-12-01
A major translation achievement, this anthology presents a rich assortment of classical Arabic poems and literary prose, from pre-Islamic times until the 18th century, with short introductions to guide non-specialist students and informative endnotes and bibliography for advanced scholars. This masterful anthology introduces this vibrant literary heritage--including pieces translated into English for the first time--to a wide spectrum of new readers. An English-only edition.
Encyclopedia of Arabic language and linguistics
Covers all aspects of the study of Arabic and deals with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic). It is interdisciplinary in scope, and supports study and research in the fields of linguistics, Islamic studies, Arabic literature and related fields.
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures (Set Volumes 1-6) by Suad Joseph (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007-04-01
A unique collaboration of over 900 scholars from around the world, the Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a ground-breaking reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world. No other reference work offers this scale of contributions or depth and breadth of coverage. Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures is set to become an essential reference work for students and researchers in the fields of gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, as well as scholars of religion, history, politics, anthropology, geography and related disciplines.This encyclopedia consists of six volumes (including an Index volume), published from 2003 to 2007.To download a preview, click here"
Modern Arabic Literature by Ragai N. Makar
Publication Date: 1998-12-03
"Modern Arabic Literature: A Bibliography" can only further develop and streamline the American and European interest that has been focused upon the significance and variety of Arabic literature. This bibliography covers all genres of literature including ballads, comedy, drama, fiction, Israeli literature, Islamic literature, biographies, Mahjar literature, poetry, prisoner writings, short stories, and studies of the theater. This up-to-date and unprecedented bibliography will help the student or librarian who needs to expand their range of familiarity with world literatures.
Lughatuna (Living Arabic Project)
A website showing Arabic as a living language allowing users to search simultaneously in classical and dialectal (Egyptian, Levantine & North African) dictionaries.
Oxford Arabic Dictionary by Oxford Oxford Languages
Publication Date: 2014-08-28
An authoritative English-Arabic / Arabic-English dictionary conatining more than 130,000 words and phrases and 200,000 translations. The dictionary is also packed with extra features including tables of Arabic verbs,Arabic numbers, dates, and years, and irregular English verbs.