Guides: Marketing &amp; Advertising: Advertising

Advertising

Vivintel
- This link opens in a new window
A source of print and digital audience data for magazines and newspapers, it is the amalgamated organization of media measurement bodies NADbank and PMB.

Vivvix (was Advertising Insights)
- This link opens in a new window
Use VPN for off-campus access.

Provides research on the multi-media advertising marketplace. It monitors US expenditure information for millions of products at the category, parent company, subsidiaries or brand levels across US Network TV, Spot TV, Cable TV, Newspapers, Internet, etc.

Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Business-related statistics from a wide range of sources. (International). Off-campus access works best via VPN.

Advertising Periodicals, 1815-1888 (EBSCO)
Resource featuring periodicals that were primarily used as advertising vehicles. Titles promote various kinds of goods and services available to consumers and how retailers marketed them. Subjects include medicine, fashion, business, industry, agriculture, books, literature, abolition, and publishing.

Adviews
Commercials produced by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency (1950s-80s)

American Periodicals (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Go to advanced search, type in keywords and select document type ‘advertisement’.

Canadian Advertising Museum
A virtual museum for Canadian advertisements from the 1940s-1990s.
History of Advertising Trust
Collection of UK print advertisements.
International Advertising and Design Database
International collection of advertisements from various mediums.
Internet Archive - Classic TV Commercials
Television commercials and public service announcements, mostly from the 1950s and 1960s.
Picture Post Historical Archive
- This link opens in a new window
The Picture Post Historical Archive comprises the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957—all digitized from originals in full colour.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Select document type as 'advertisement' or 'display ad'. To search across all historical newspapers, go to top of page and change database list to include other Proquest Historical Newspaper titles.

Vintage Ad Browser
Vintage ads collected on a variety of topics.
The Vogue Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of the magazine Vogue going to back 1892 including full-page advertisements.