LGBTQ+ Studies

LGBTQ history and culture since 1940. Archive containing historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals, personal correspondence, interviews, publications, gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries.
New modules: L'Enfer de la Bibliotheque Nationale de France; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture; and Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century.
The content of this database is available for text-mining through Gale Digital Scholar Lab

>> LGBT Thought & Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
>> The collection includes documents ranging from letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community
>> It features select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers. It is also seeking to represent the major winners of both the Stonewall Book Awards and Lambda Literary Awards, many of which are no longer in print.

>> LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community.
>> It features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
>> A primary partner for this collection is Frameline, a nonprofit media organization that produces the San Francisco International LGBT Film Festival, the oldest film festival devoted to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender programming currently in existence.

Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.

Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests including the US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. This material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Some publications may contain explicit content. Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub- dshub.library@mcgill.ca, Subject: ProQuest text or data mining question.
Coverage: 1954 - 2015

Over 70,000 streaming films and documentaries.
Use the filter by subject to find films on gender, sexuality, race, women, feminism, social justice etc.

444 documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.

The collection currently includes 122 document projects and archives with 4,900 documents and more than 168,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by more than 2,600 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

Includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years.

Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.