GLBT News is the official news blog for the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT) of the American Library Association (ALA). This is an excellent source of information and news at the intersections of LGBTQ communities, libraries, and education.
La Bibliothèque à livres ouverts (BALO) est le seul centre de documentation spécialisé dans les questions reliées à la diversité sexuelle au Québec et l'un des plus importants de la Francophonie et au Canada. Avec son patrimoine culturel unique, la BALO joue un rôle crucial dans la préservation et la diffusion des cultures et de la mémoire LGBT québécoises et mondiales.
The Open Book Library (OBL) is the only specialized documentation center on issues related to sexual diversity in Quebec and one of the largest in French-speaking nations and Canada. With its unique cultural heritage, the OBL plays a crucial role in the preservation and dissemination of Quebec and global LGBT memory.
(Anciennement gai écoute)
Dévoilé au grand public en octobre 2014, le Guide LGBT fut, pendant de nombreuses années, un guide de ressources réservé aux écoutants et écoutantes de Gai Écoute afin de guider les appelants. Pour aider le plus grand nombre de personnes possibles, ce guide est désormais accessible à tous et à toutes. Vous y trouverez des organismes, des commerces et des services pour les personnes LGBT d'ici et d'ailleurs dans le monde.
Les Archives gaies du Québec (A.G.Q.) sont un organisme communautaire à but non lucratif qui a le mandat de recevoir, conserver et préserver tout document manuscrit, imprimé, visuel, sonore, et tout objet témoignant de l'histoire des gais et lesbiennes du Québec.
The Archives gaies du Québec (A.G.Q.) is a not-for-profit community based organization that has the mandate to receive, conserve and preserve printed, electronic, visual and audio documentation about the history of the gay and lesbian community of Québec.
The Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives (CLGA) is the largest independent LGBTQ+ archives in the world. With a focus on Canadian content, the CLGA acquires, preserves and provides public access to information and archival materials in any medium.
By collecting and caring for important historical records, personal papers, unpublished documents, publications, audio-visual material, works of art, photographs, posters, and other artifacts, the CLGA is a trusted guardian of LGBTQ+ histories now and for generations to come.
The University of Victoria Libraries Special Collections is actively acquiring documents, rare publications, and memorabilia of persons and organizations that have worked for the betterment of transgendered people.
This subcategory includes selected resources on gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgendered, intersexed, and other antinormative sexual identities, practices, performances, discourses, representations, and communities. In general, as an emerging interdisciplinary field, Queer Studies seeks to critique identity politics and destabilize notions of normative or essentialized sexuality and gender.
The ACT UP Oral History Project is a collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York. The project is coordinated by Jim Hubbard and Sarah Schulman, with principal camera work by James Wentzy and additional camerawork on the West Coast by S. Leo Chiang and Tracy Wares.
The purpose of this project is to present comprehensive, complex, human, collective, and individual pictures of the people who have made up ACT UP/New York. These men and women of all races and classes have transformed entrenched cultural ideas about homosexuality, sexuality, illness, health care, civil rights, art, media, and the rights of patients. They have achieved concrete changes in medical and scientific research, insurance, law, health care delivery, graphic design, and introduced new and effective methods for political organizing. These interviews reveal what has motivated them to action and how they have organized complex endeavors. We hope that this information will de-mystify the process of making social change, remind us that change can be made, and help us understand how to do it. (ACT UP continues to fight to end the AIDS epidemic. For more information on ACT UP's current activities, see their websites www.actupny.com and www.actupny.org.)
People with a History presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people [=LGBT]. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and [soon] images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world.
Gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender individuals have special health concerns besides the usual ones that affect most men and women. On this page you'll find information about these specific health issues.
~ Disponible également en français ~
CATIE is Canada’s source for up-to-date, unbiased information about HIV and hepatitis C. We connect people living with HIV or hepatitis C, at-risk communities, healthcare providers and community organizations with the knowledge, resources and expertise to reduce transmission and improve quality of life.
CATIE est la source d’information à jour et impartiale sur le VIH et l’hépatite C au Canada. Notre but est de partager les connaissances, les ressources et l’expertise avec les personnes vivant avec le VIH ou l’hépatite C, les communautés à risque, les fournisseurs de soins de santé et les organismes communautaires afin de diminuer la transmission des virus et d’améliorer la qualité de vie.
OutRight works to document and expose human rights violations against LGBTIQ people across the world and believes that generating evidence-based human rights documentation is the most effective way to hold governments accountable for failing to meet human rights obligations and standards- before national, regional and international human rights monitoring bodies.
Lambda Literary believes Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer literature is fundamental to the preservation of our culture, and that LGBTQ lives are affirmed when our stories are written, published and read. - See more at: http://www.lambdaliterary.org/mission-statement/#sthash.B8KhlSRZ.dpuf
Use this link to chat directly with your Liaison Librarian. Simply log in with your McGill email and password in Microsoft Office 365. I am usually available between 9:00 EST and 17:00 EST Monday-Friday.