Skip to main content

MyResearch (Health & biological sciences): Home

Note: The MyResearch seminar series is restricted to McGill graduate and postdoctoral students.

MyResearch sessions

Module 1: EndNote Essentials - Handout

Module 2: Graduate Research Tool Kit - Presentation | Worksheet

Module 3: Search Strategies & Techniques - Presentation | Worksheet

Module 4: Getting Your Research Out - Presentation

Finding materials

Books
  • Search the Library's WorldCat catalogue
Articles

Subject guides are a great place to find subject-specific databases but here are good places to start:

  • PubMed - The U.S. federal government's free interface for searching the Medline database; to see Find It McGill links, create a My NCBI Account and set up Outside Tool
  • PubMed Clinical Queries - Filter your PubMed results to the study types (RCTs, Systematic Reviews, etc.) that best answer your clinical question type (therapy, diagnosis, etc.) 
  • Ovid MEDLINE (1996- ) - Contains the same Medline database as PubMed, but searchable with the Ovid interface. Include older materials by searching Ovid MEDLINE (1946- ).
  • Embase - Biomedical and pharmaceutical database by Elsevier which includes literature from European and Asian journals
  • Cochrane Library - Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and other databases to find systematic reviews, clinical trials and economic evaluations
  • Scopus - Multidisciplinary, citation database
  • Biosis Previews - Multidisciplinary, citation database
  • Web of Science - Multidisciplinary, citation database
Data

The Library has data-related subject guides:

Material not available at McGill
Reading & Critiquing Research Articles

Citing Materials

Getting Your Research Out

Funding opportunities
Finding upcoming conferences
Finding past conference papers
Choosing a journal
Knowing your rights as an author
Keeping track of your work
Open access repositories

Your feedback please!

If you have attended a MyResearch session, please fill out the feedback form.

Liaison librarians

Genevieve Gore
genevieve.gore@mcgill.ca
514-398-3472

Martin Morris
martin.morris@mcgill.ca
514-398-8140

Icon Guide

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice